Asus Zenfone 9 review

28 July 2022


Sort by:

Not into Asus but that's a nice, manageable size like the non-XL Pixel 2 and 3. I'm more in the market for the Sony Xperia XZ1 Compact. I think under 130 mm in height is when I think it's truly pocketable. I'm really enjoying the iPhone SE (2016) again due to its size and 111 grams. So easy to slip in and out of my pockets. More manageable than the 12/13 minis.

    • L
    • Love the Community
    • qIb
    • 30 Jul 2022

    I got the Poco X4 GT already but I'm happy to see how awesome Asus Zenfone 9 turns out to be.

      • A
      • Anon87
      • I@H
      • 30 Jul 2022

      Compact phone at 5.9" 👍
      120Hz, 90Hz, 60Hz display option 👍
      Fast chipset, 5G👍
      Very good battery life 👍
      Great cameras, Great speakers 👍
      Side-mounted finger print reader 👍
      3.5mm Headphone jack 👍




        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • Lkg
        • 29 Jul 2022

        Hemedans, 29 Jul 2022It happen, any phone which doesnt allow true multitasking w... moreNone of my phones have ever done it.
        Not even from same brand.

        Set it to not cut wifi when screen is off and turn off stamina

          Nice compact phone with impressive battery life, performance and cameras. Would consider getting one as my next phone.

            Did they include led notification like last year . Near usb port

              Kara Murat, 29 Jul 20222 years More like 1 1/2 years given Android 13 is basically here...

                Anonymous, 29 Jul 2022"Will receive 2 OS updates plus two more years of secu... more2 years

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • uvf
                  • 29 Jul 2022

                  Honest advice, do yourself a favor and stay away from asus.

                    Anonymous, 29 Jul 2022It does not happen unless you set phone to turn off the wif... moreIt happen, any phone which doesnt allow true multitasking will kill process to get more battery life. Just few days ago i was downloading fire emblem heroes data pack in xz1 compact, if screen goes off for few minute download will stop, you have to open display and retry, but same game in LG G8x even if display goes off download will continue untill finished.

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • x0k
                      • 29 Jul 2022

                      No wireless charging? Bah

                        • U
                        • UX Designer
                        • tTf
                        • 29 Jul 2022

                        Anonymous, 29 Jul 2022It is true so pain to view map on any 2020's phone. ... moreYou are correct, its impossible to play games and all in all do anything on small screens, also Asus not confident and showing support only for 2 years as they must be thinking of upcoming overheating issues, why brands try these bespoke things beyond they can control.

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • Xyk
                          • 29 Jul 2022

                          this is what is called a smart phone

                            Anonymous, 29 Jul 2022It is not compact. It is even larger than phones like S7 th... moreFor you maybe.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • Lkg
                              • 29 Jul 2022

                              Hemedans, 29 Jul 2022Why not? Assume you are opening game and download data lets... moreIt does not happen unless you set phone to turn off the wifi when screen is off.
                              Standby means phone is doing nothing. Just there using only power enouh to remain on.

                              🤦🏻‍♂️

                                • A
                                • Alex
                                • n2n
                                • 29 Jul 2022

                                PorkyCat, 29 Jul 2022Manufacturers. Not everyone wants a phone like a pencil or ... moreSeriously? you're writing this nonsense below the review of a phone whose whole premise is compactness. And the worst dimension with regards to compactness is the width. For someone with small hands like me anything above 70mm is unusable with one hand and even that is a stretch. And you're talking about a phone over 80mm wide that's not only unusable with 1 hand for people with even average hands not just small but also has hopeless pocketability! Seriously what are you even doing here? Go post this below some phablet review or something

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • M3w
                                  • 29 Jul 2022

                                  PorkyCat, 29 Jul 2022Manufacturers. Not everyone wants a phone like a pencil or ... moreIt is true so pain to view map on any 2020's phone.
                                  To get 75mm width, it would need 7.5" screen just because of that useless 20.9:9 ratio

                                    • s
                                    • s8
                                    • AZd
                                    • 29 Jul 2022

                                    Anonymous, 29 Jul 2022"Will receive 2 OS updates plus two more years of secu... moreIt means 2 years of guaranteed security updates (not 4) with a possibility to be longer. Personally I think that they will wait to see how sales start and will decide on the length based on that how long support will continue. I believe they will have to lower the price of the device if they think they have some sales. Yes it is a nice small and powerful phone, but it's just (too) expensive with this starting price.

                                      • A
                                      • Alekos
                                      • 3kX
                                      • 29 Jul 2022

                                      The lack of wireless charging is a deal breaker, for me. Huge disappointment.

                                        Manufacturers. Not everyone wants a phone like a pencil or supermodel. Some of us actually want shorter, wider phones useful for maps, viewing text, spreadsheets and other documents that won't or can't automatically reformat themselves.

                                        Also, think of the extra space you'd have to play with in a phone that was 80mm wide. All that cheaper chip technology you could use not having to scrunch everything into the latest nM process. The bigger batteries, heavens, you could EVEN INCLUDE A CARD SLOT. Lordy.

                                        According to GSM's search, there are so far, 5 (non folding) phones 80mm or over released this year.