Tecno Camon 19 Pro review

30 July 2022


Sort by:

> It is safe to assume that its front side is plastic too, which is a bit of a bummer. At least the phone ships with a pre-installed plastic screen protector.


Seriously it has a plastic display screen? How much more does an extra thin 1mm layer of glass actually cost (like 1 $ more???).

Its like back to the 2008s with plastic fantastic androids.

Also the UI is seriously just a copy of Huawei emui, which also copies the quick settings bar from Apples Ios

    • E
    • Elliot Kyan
    • 6p$
    • 31 Jul 2022

    I thought they are not trying to get system update ( android 12) to Camon 18p. Live wallpaper are not available even if I want to. Not a good choice.

      Anonymous, 31 Jul 2022Does the camera of this phone have a pro mode feature??Yes, it is Written in the review.

        • R
        • Rbx
        • fsN
        • 31 Jul 2022

        Anders, 30 Jul 2022Another budget phone without micro SD support. God I hate s... moreTecno shouldn't follow the bad trend which consists of ditching SD slots and audio jack ports...They'll lose a lot of loyal customers if they decide to generalize it.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • I@a
          • 31 Jul 2022

          Does the camera of this phone have a pro mode feature??

            • R
            • Rbx
            • fsN
            • 31 Jul 2022

            Anders, 30 Jul 2022Another budget phone without micro SD support. God I hate s... moreTecno shouldn't follow the bad trend which consists of ditching SD slots and audio jack ports...They'll lose a lot of loyal customers if they decide to generalize it.

              • s
              • saw
              • 0mV
              • 31 Jul 2022

              Looks familiar :D, like something i just saw yesterday :D

                Anonymous, 30 Jul 2022There are devices with same chip that get much better batte... morewhich one? redmi note 11 pro got 100 endurace rating, Poco M4 pro reach 126, realme 8 reach 136.

                  Anonymous, 31 Jul 2022If it's really an RWWB RGWB sensor, then I don't ... moreTecno's own slides that they used when they announced the Camon 19 series this year contradicts what they use on the product page of the phones (different CFA patterns for the RGBW sensor they claim to use). It would be best not to expect them to have an accurate description of what is really happening under the hood.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • gBV
                    • 31 Jul 2022

                    It's surprising that this phone has a 50mm camera. Due to the RGBW sensor, which behaves more like a Bayer sensor than a Quad Bayer sensor, the full resolution images are so good that they can give you more detail (better angular resolution) than the 50mm camera because the main camera delivers more pixels per angle than the 50mm camera. The 50mm camera has a higher focal length, which will lead to slightly less noisy distant objects at base Iso, but that's only a small advantage.

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • gBV
                      • 31 Jul 2022

                      Anonymous, 31 Jul 2022Strange, I just looked at the animation of their website an... moreIf it's really an RWWB RGWB sensor, then I don't see any similarities to a Quad Bayer sensor. And indeed, the 64 megapixel images look more like 64 megapixel Bayer images. Note that there are also Bayer sensors with analog pixel binning. Though the binning is different. For example, there are Bayer sensors where two red pixels are binned digitally and then they are combined with another two red pixels via analog binning (in comparison to Quad Bayer where there is analog binning for four red pixels).

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • gBV
                        • 31 Jul 2022

                        Anonymous, 31 Jul 2022Strange, I just looked at the animation of their website an... moreThough it doesn't make sense that they don't have reduced the alleged light advantage that was mentioned in their previous presentation, where 50% of the pixels didn't have a color filter.

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • gBV
                          • 31 Jul 2022

                          Strange, I just looked at the animation of their website and it seems that they don't use the WRRW WGGW WGGW WBBW color filter array, which was advertised several months ago ( m.gsmarena.com/samsung_and_tecno_working_on_rgbw_camera_sensor_-news-52169.php ) , the animation rather seems to indicate that it is RWWB RGWB , so it seems that 37.5% of the pixels don't have a color filter

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • Yi}
                            • 30 Jul 2022

                            Looks like Asus new zenfone.

                              • D
                              • AnonD-1033007
                              • g8K
                              • 30 Jul 2022

                              Anonymous, 30 Jul 2022Looks surprisingly similar to Zenfone 9.I was confused for a bit, i thought it was Zenfone 9 lol

                                • D
                                • AnonD-1033007
                                • g8K
                                • 30 Jul 2022

                                Anonymous, 30 Jul 2022Samsung A series killerIn what universe?

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • a0V
                                  • 30 Jul 2022

                                  SerginSvg, 30 Jul 2022weak doesn't mean low battery consumption, its 12nm ch... moreThere are devices with same chip that get much better battery life.

                                  This smells like a broken ROM...

                                    Anonymous, 30 Jul 2022Looks surprisingly similar to Zenfone 9.🤣🤣😂 i thought i was the only person that noticed that..

                                      Another budget phone without micro SD support. God I hate smartphones these days. Secondly it's no good hyping up the cameras then choosing an SOC that isn't even capable of 4K recording

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • gBV
                                        • 30 Jul 2022

                                        "The main camera can be set to 64MP mode. It works quite well and overall manages to deliver more fine detail in the final shots."
                                        As 50% of the pixels don't have a colour filter, I would expect the high resolution mode to deliver sharper results than Quad Bayer high resolution modes.