Motorola Edge 30 Neo review

07 October 2022


Sort by:

  • p
  • pro100gamer
  • Hyk
  • 13 Oct 2022

Apart from 1000 candles, the screen of this Neo (unlike many other competitors with them 70%) covers almost 100% the rgb / dci-p3 color space. Strange that no one has measured the very important value for HDR

    • N
    • Nutbuster
    • p82
    • 12 Oct 2022

    Been using my Pixel 3a for 3 years and have had a hard time finding a replacement, but the Edge 30 Neo caught my eye the first time I saw it, so I ordered one.

    I've been using it for almost an hour now and wow, I really have to say that I'm quite impressed so far, compact/lightweight, beautiful display, solid fingerprint sensor, fast charging, great sounding speakers (miles ahead of Pixel 6) and handy gestures for different functions!

      • R
      • Rachel
      • 7tR
      • 12 Oct 2022

      Well, the compact size in a budget range is everything. Except for the chipset, the rest of the spec is a great balance too.

        • 7
        • 77
        • Jax
        • 12 Oct 2022

        Fa14bi, 09 Oct 2022Although I don't like the 695 Chipset. I do have an Ga... moreThat's why even 3 years old s855 s845 blows this.

          • 7
          • 77
          • Jax
          • 12 Oct 2022

          Galaxy Lag, 11 Oct 2022The problem is Samsung’s software, not the SoC. OneUI is l... moreYea really, with 2 thumbs down.

            PandaGrylls, 11 Oct 2022It appears that there's some sort of hardware limitati... moreThanks for the confirmation! Not a dealbreaker just good to know.

              schamu, 08 Oct 2022Thank you for your reply! Just to clarify... have you teste... moreIt appears that there's some sort of hardware limitation to having a wired connection indeed. The screenshots in the review are from a desktop environment, casted on a home TV wirelessly.

                • G
                • Galaxy Lag
                • n09
                • 11 Oct 2022

                Fa14bi, 09 Oct 2022Although I don't like the 695 Chipset. I do have an Ga... moreThe problem is Samsung’s software, not the SoC.
                OneUI is laggy since ever. Try pure Android.

                  Minu, 09 Oct 2022Surprisingly GSMArena hasn't mentioned the Nokia X30 w... moreAround the same price? In my country Neo is 399€ and X30 is 579€

                    • O
                    • Osiris
                    • JhV
                    • 10 Oct 2022

                    Fa14bi, 09 Oct 2022Although I don't like the 695 Chipset. I do have an Ga... moreDon't lie to people, A53 is a great phone

                      cyber, 07 Oct 2022this phone is priced 430 euro in my country which cant be c... moreAlthough I don't like the 695 Chipset. I do have an Galaxy A53 from my company and it lags much more than even my Old 2017 Snap 430 Moto G5.

                      Keyboard sometimes takes 5 secounds to respond, other times it's fine. The battery life is surprisingly great, I didn't expect that from an Exynos.

                      it's still so inconsistent with it's performance.

                      The last time something did take multiple Secounds to respond was The Galaxy S3 after 2 years, noticing that the max CPU clock speed got capped to 0.2Ghz instead of 1.4Ghz.

                      The A53 got a decent camera and while there is no 64MP mode, it does use all of them at 2Times zoom, getting the quality of an 2Times 16MP optical.

                      It's still one of the most uncomfortable phones I have ever used due to it's performance inconsistency. The longest dealy I had so far with this phone was taking around 25 secounds to open the camera from an third party app, for that time, the phone just froze. But then again, 90% of the time it responds directly, the other 10% is prue frustration.

                        Shadocx, 08 Oct 2022We get it, you prefer a heavier/thicker phone that has a 60... moreYou completely misrepresented anything I've said. But you were right about the Pixel 6a being better.

                          • M
                          • Minu
                          • ter
                          • 09 Oct 2022

                          Surprisingly GSMArena hasn't mentioned the Nokia X30 with similar specs and UFS 2.2 around the same price as a viable alternative

                            The color is good though

                              • G
                              • GeeX
                              • 3JU
                              • 09 Oct 2022

                              I love the all the things about this phone except the chipset.. it's 5G phone lacks 4K recording.. one step forward and one step backward into the future.. funny..

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • mAE
                                • 09 Oct 2022

                                This is a quite decent review in its class. But not class leading.

                                  dbjungle, 08 Oct 2022Oh that's my bad. I was looking on Giztop where the 1... moreYeah, that would be the price for importing a Chinese variant. The ISP is not very good in the snapdragon 695 so don't think it's a great idea to buy any phone with this chip for customers that care about camera performance, especially for anyone that wants good video performance.

                                    • P
                                    • Pawan Sut Agrahari
                                    • gM$
                                    • 09 Oct 2022

                                    schamu, 08 Oct 2022Thank you for your reply! Just to clarify... have you teste... moreWow nice phone

                                      Eric20, 08 Oct 2022Some other website says it has GG3.None of Motorola's official websites say 30 Neo has gorilla glass. Whereas it is stated for many of their other models. If so, that is a significant negative for this phone IMO.

                                        dbjungle, 08 Oct 2022Oh that's my bad. I was looking on Giztop where the 1... moreWe get it, you prefer a heavier/thicker phone that has a 60Hz display with thicker bezels, also less brightness, rebranded Exynos, shorter off screen battery life despite the bigger battery, slower battery charging, no desktop mode, totally stock Android with no extras, shitty front camera, stereo speakers with worse bass, no wireless charging, no charger in the box.
                                        Just because the Pixel 6a have better build quality, IP rating, a more powerful chipset, better camera software and better software support doesn't mean it's a better deal, at least not to me, but to each their own.