Motorola Edge 30 Neo review

07 October 2022


Sort by:

PandaGrylls, 08 Oct 2022Thank you for your comment. We've added the limited in... moreThank you for your reply! Just to clarify... have you tested the "ready for" functionality with a wired connection? Even Motorola's own compatibility page states that the Neo can do wireless only.
https://motorola-global-en-roe.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/160550/~/ready-for-compatibility-chart

    Deanie, 07 Oct 2022Same price in the UK 🇬🇧 as Google Pixel 6a right now? Umm, ... moreAs another person in the UK, this is what I thought as well. £50 more expensive with a slower chipset and worse software support.

      For the conclusion a small mistake, the pixel 6a managed 94hrs against the 104hr of the motarola.

        Anonymous, 08 Oct 2022Well, well, well, this is more like it! Nice screen, good b... moreChipset limitation of the SD 695.

          Its good this phone ship with usb 3.1 but with that weak chipset. whats you gonna use it for, emulator definitely will struggle (except very old game) and it doesnt have desktop mode (even if it have it will perform laggy)

            • V
            • Vanderpool
            • 0@x
            • 08 Oct 2022

            dbjungle, 08 Oct 2022IMO this phone is just priced too high for what it is. It ... moreXiaomi 12 costs approx 2 times as much?

              dbjungle, 08 Oct 2022IMO this phone is just priced too high for what it is. It ... moreI agree it's a bit expensive compared to older phones but how is it competing with the Xiaomi 12x and Xiaomi 12. They are in a completely different category. Take the 12x for example. Just checked the current price in Germany and Spain where it is €649 and €699 respectively compared to €399 for this

                IMO this phone is just priced too high for what it is. It has to compete with the Pixel 6a, Xiaomi 12X and Xiaomi 12. Those phones may cost a bit more, but these 3 all give significantly better performance and have significantly better cameras. The camera was ultimately the biggest disappointment for me. The Pixel 6a has been at 399 more than 459 since it came out. The Edge 30 Neo would be a much better value proposition under 300 USD.

                  • N
                  • Nutbuster
                  • p82
                  • 08 Oct 2022

                  Finally! Looks like a perfect replacement for my Pixel 3a, 360 $/€ for the phone itself including a free Lenovo Smart Clock 2 seems like a decent purchase.

                    • L
                    • LV426
                    • pIu
                    • 08 Oct 2022

                    Ok and what for u need 4k? Good quality Fhd is better than basic 4k ... 4k = nonsense, just more mb for nothing + 90 percent people using videos for Whatsapp etc = comprimmed anyway.

                      • K
                      • Krillo
                      • 04a
                      • 08 Oct 2022

                      How is this Moto edge neo against the Xiaomi POCO M4 Pro 4G? Xiaomi battery life is very good,but the Moto seems decent too. Finally the chipset, SD695 vs Helio G96, are there noticable differences here?

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • XNt
                        • 08 Oct 2022

                        Anonymous, 08 Oct 2022Well, well, well, this is more like it! Nice screen, good b... moreSnapdragon 695 5G (6 nm) is a good processor but doesn't support 4k

                          • D
                          • Dolle
                          • 04a
                          • 08 Oct 2022

                          Anonymous, 08 Oct 2022Currently, it's a bit too expensive for me to consider.Thanks for information. Maybe you would be so kind to update us when your budget allows this phone to be purchased?

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • YUf
                            • 08 Oct 2022

                            Currently, it's a bit too expensive for me to consider.

                              schamu, 07 Oct 2022I find it a bit strange that the battery/charging section o... moreThank you for your comment. We've added the limited info we had on the wireless charging in the appropriate section and added the "double-tap" function in the software section. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

                              Regarding the cable, however, we've explicitly mentioned in the review what type of cable you need to use the "Ready For" functionality and unfortunately, we have no way of knowing if it's a USB 2.0 or 3.1 port on the phone itself. Keep in mind that manufacturers often list limited info about their devices and there's no way of obtaining such info.

                              Thank you again and have a nice day!

                                • N
                                • Noorul Haque
                                • Hx9
                                • 08 Oct 2022

                                This phone deserves more than 4 stars and I strongly disagree with gsmarena score. They should should the price to value proposition as well.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • gE7
                                  • 08 Oct 2022

                                  Well, well, well, this is more like it! Nice screen, good battery and (almost) perfect size (I'd prefer just a bit smaller). But what happened to the 4k video? I mean, even the super old iPhone SE 1. gen has it...

                                    Munem, 07 Oct 2022No screen protection, Gorilla?Some other website says it has GG3.

                                      I disagree with the 4* rating, it is a balanced phone with brighter display than some flagships and accurate colors, good camera sensors, and not 8 MP and 2 MP trashes, USB 3.1 with "Ready For" and wireless charging, great battery life for it's size.
                                      This phone is 400€ in my country, the same price as the Redmi Note 11 Pro 5G when it launched, same chipset and memory option, the Motorola is much more appealing.
                                      You guys compared it to phones that already had price cuts.
                                      I hope Motorola will eat all Xiaomi market shares, getting tired of their trashes.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • Lkg
                                        • 07 Oct 2022

                                        tri, 07 Oct 2022How much is the difference though? That's the problem.... more695 is almost as strong as 845.
                                        That is not weak.