Xiaomi 14 review

25 February 2024


Sort by:

cost more than small siblings from other manufacturers like Galaxy S24, pixel 8, vivo x100, etc. I must have missed something on the specs what does this one have that all the others don't ??

    • e
    • elmarcello
    • 0p}
    • 26 Feb 2024

    Well, shortly said, it does not seem being worth the price, especially when considering photo quality, as for me. Having top notch sensor in main camera is very nice, but it just does not deliver. The photos are all the way over processed, and i do not like the way they are rendered. They look unnatural, with lack of fine details. There are far way better ways to render the photos, in the way professionals would do it. The telephoto camera is not that much telephoto on its own, not too be said it is not even le periscopique. And jn1 is a no serious for that price range at all.

    Why say the recent realme 12+ pro does better job in camera department, although not perfect too. But costs less than half after all.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • 0p}
      • 26 Feb 2024

      Eno2, 26 Feb 2024Of course, I did! Let's look at an example together... moreComparing the photos I find: Xiaomi > Vivo > Oppo > iPhone > Samsung

      I am comparing the lattice work on the window panels since you can't really compare the grass due to being in different conditions throughout the year.

        • B
        • Birdie
        • 0xY
        • 26 Feb 2024

        veloce, 26 Feb 2024What do you mean? Xiaomi 14 in Europe is 1100eur, Vivo X100... moreIn Croatia a flash sale starts today (or is only today) - 200 EUR-os off of the full price.

          Zuzuz, 26 Feb 2024Maybe you should stay in the same category of prices for Eu... moreWhat do you mean? Xiaomi 14 in Europe is 1100eur, Vivo X100Pro costs 1200 euro.

          Here are examples from S24 and OP12, foliage looks so much better and more natural than on this overpriced Xiaomi:

          https://fdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/24/samsung-galaxy-s24/camera/gsmarena_1106.jpg

          https://fdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/24/oneplus-12/rev23/daylight/gsmarena_106.jpg

            Anonymous, 26 Feb 2024Since when do Xiaomi flagships come with ads? Really like t... moreYou're out of the loop then. Every Xiaomi app on the 13 had ads and sometimes sends you notifications. You CAN remove/disable them but it's sad that you're paying so much to get the same software experience as a cheap Redmi phone.

            Also, promising updates is one thing. Delivering them quickly and regularly is another thing. Outside of Google, Samsung is the best at this.

            Basically even if Xiaomi promises 5 years of security updates, you won't get them monthly and the new OS versions will come late.

              Anonymous, 25 Feb 2024With all respect, you are wrong. Well it is overpriced. That's a reality. Then the cameras weren't that great on the 13, let's see if they can do better this time. And the software is full of ads and bloatware that are unacceptable at this price point. The Xiaomi isn't the fastest with the software updates either.

              You're the one who's wrong.

                • Z
                • Zuzuz
                • mA{
                • 26 Feb 2024

                Eno2, 26 Feb 2024Of course, I did! Let's look at an example together... moreMaybe you should stay in the same category of prices for Europe. Compare it with s24, s23, Asus 10, OnePlus 12. Any ultra should be compared with other Ultras or pro Max.

                  Rosso, 25 Feb 2024To me it sounds like you just hate Xiaomi because photos ar... moreWell it is an objective choice. Photos lack deatil and look like oil paintings. I don't hate xiaomi, I actually wanted it to be good to buy it lol. I don't want the S24 with exynos or the xperia 5 that looks like a remote control.

                    • E
                    • Eno2
                    • skL
                    • 26 Feb 2024

                    Anonymous, 26 Feb 2024Have you tried comparing photos side by side instead of jus... moreOf course, I did!

                    Let's look at an example together:
                    Does the grass, trees, etc look: "flagship-grade", "has everything - sharpness, fine detail" to you?
                    To my eyes, the processing of Xiaomi 14 strongly resembles an artificial water painting effect, and the darn thing costs 1000 euros!

                    Xiaomi 14:
                    https://fdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/24/xiaomi-14/camera/gsmarena_040.jpg

                    Samsung S20:
                    https://fdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/24/samsung-galaxy-s24/camera/gsmarena_1102.jpg

                    Vivo X100pro:
                    https://fdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/23/vivo-x100-pro/daylight/gsmarena_102.jpg

                    Iphone 15 pro:
                    https://fdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/23/apple-iphone-15-pro/daylight/gsmarena_121.jpg

                    Oppo Find X7pro:
                    https://fdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/23/oppo-find-x6-pro/camera/gsmarena_009.jpg

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • 0p}
                      • 26 Feb 2024

                      Eno2, 26 Feb 2024"Main camera The main camera delivers flagship-grade ... moreHave you tried comparing photos side by side instead of just looking at one and coming up with your "conclusion"?

                        • E
                        • Eno2
                        • skL
                        • 26 Feb 2024

                        "Main camera
                        The main camera delivers flagship-grade image quality during the day. It has everything - sharpness, fine detail, wide dynamic range, accurate color reproduction, and consistent outdoor and indoor performance."

                        I'm sorry but what I see is ugly over-processing, unnatural details, and vegetation that resembles digital water painting.

                        Just an example, my observations remain consistent throughout the gallery:
                        https://fdn.gsmarena.com/imgroot/reviews/24/xiaomi-14/camera/gsmarena_041.jpg

                        In my humble opinion, I don't see any "flagship-grade image quality", on the contrary! I saw much better image quality from much cheaper phones, and I'm very curious how you managed to get to the above conclusion.

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • Sme
                          • 26 Feb 2024

                          not worth that price.

                            Love the design of this phone and the size is great, not too small or not too big. Night photos I think have improved on the Xiaomi 13. However, the daytime photos seem to have regressed. Really can't see how the gsmarena team came to the conclusion that they have everything especially the 'fine details' part. The fine details seem to be smeared a lot, probably due to the noise reduction. Chinese comparisons against the Vivo x100 for example also show quite a big gap in details in daytime images in favour of the Vivo x100. It's a pity the standard x series models never seem to get reviewed on gsmarena as they always have pretty good cameras in this price category. The video quality is typically very good on Xiaomi flagships though and I think that seems to be the case again here. I feel they are one of the most reliable android brands for video quality in their flagships at least for the last couple of years. The only other minor negative for me is the screen brightness. Less than 500 nits for manual brightness is miles behind the competition. Although the global peak brightness is ok (but sill on the low side) this othen can't be sustained in outdoor use so higher manual brightness would have been nice.

                              Anonymous, 25 Feb 2024So , rumor that full sensor was used this time was not true... moreYeah. This is what their official specs say in China for the "3.2x". The Chinese site has more detail than the European ones.

                              '32MP effective pixels (photo mode); 50MP total pixels (portrait mode); the actual number of pixels used in photos and videos is slightly different due to different modes, please refer to the actual situation.
                              * The focal length of each lens is the equivalent focal length number in the default mode, which may be different from the physical equivalent focal length. Please refer to the actual one.'

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • CbK
                                • 26 Feb 2024

                                Is it better than xiomi redmi note 13 pro??

                                  Even the galaxy S suffered with low sale in every year . What this brand is thinking to sale that price huh ? Awful marketing.

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • sXb
                                    • 26 Feb 2024

                                    I see on the specs 1920fps video - obviously *simulated* (fake) using interpolation.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • sXb
                                      • 26 Feb 2024

                                      The camera section claims that it produces "accurate color reproduction" - was the sky *really* that colour ?

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • fCC
                                        • 26 Feb 2024

                                        the new hyper os appears to be quite efficient with battery