Sony Ericsson Satio vs. Samsung Pixon12: 12MP shootout

21 October 2009
A year's truce must've been enough and some heavyweight sharpshooters are called to arms again. In fact, there's never been a ceasefire in the battle for profit. But we're about to look at the future of cameraphones and the battle to take place is more for glory than anything else.

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Oct 2009Nice idea but still sad for him because it is Canon which going ... moreSo you are saying that he better throw his phone??lol

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Oct 2009Cool!!! I agree to that. Attach the Canon cam to his Samsung pho... moreNice idea but still sad for him because it is Canon which going to take the pictures not the cam of his Sam phone. uh oh.

  • Anonymous

Durability and Fades are the issues of samsung phones

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Oct 2009So BETTER buy a Canon camera(not samsung camera) if image quali... moreCool!!! I agree to that. Attach the Canon cam to his Samsung phone and that's the time he can assure everyone about the excellent picture quality of his most loved phone that can blow away the pic quality of most phones.LOL

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 23 Oct 2009Enjoy your Pixon12 for 4-6 months,kiss it if u want..Then throw ... moreYa, We are going to enjoy our SATIO but you have too as well but sadly in just a short time. Sorry...

  • Anonymous

Kal, 23 Oct 2009Did I say that they are 3rd largest in DSLR? They delivered what... moreWell, I guess it is motorola which can't come up with improvements and keep it's competitiveness.

  • Anonymous

Kal, 23 Oct 2009It's silly and childish to look for Samsung digicam at top digit... moreSo BETTER buy a Canon camera(not samsung camera) if image quality is all that matters to you..Hahahaha

  • Anonymous

Kal, 23 Oct 2009It's silly and childish to look for Samsung digicam at top digit... moreEnjoy your Pixon12 for 4-6 months,kiss it if u want..Then throw it away once its housing gets faded..

Im gonna enjoy my Satio, SYMBIAN OS,BETTER video recording with BETTER audio,bigger 3.5 inches 16M colors touchscreen,better battery life..

Pixon12's image quality wins in just a little difference but what about video recording

Satio has reliable specs UNLIKE some commercially advertise 28mm wide angle lens which actually is a 30mm one on pixon12..

  • Anonymous

You don't buy a phone without considernig the rest of the features beside from the camera... so Satio wins. GSMArena, where is the complete review?

  • Anonymous

mark, 23 Oct 2009oh come on SE fans,just once in ur life,admit it!u were happy to... moreIt only seems so your words won't surely give any assurance. It's just how you look at it. And by the way, nobody can tell.

  • mark

oh come on SE fans,just once in ur life,admit it!u were happy to brag about that satio was the first announced 12mpx camera,but it seems that Pixon12 beated u up in ur own game.

  • Kal

Anonymous, 23 Oct 2009Maybe the world's third largest compact camera maker but that do... moreDid I say that they are 3rd largest in DSLR? They delivered what common people need, a compact digital camera. There are others to choose when it comes to professional photography. And lets not talk about who started who please. Motorola stated mobile phone, where they are now? No matter who invented or stated, unless they can't keep up with the market trend, come up with improvements and keep it competitive, they will sure go down the history. And btw pricing is a major factor when we say competitive.

  • Nikola, Macedonia

TOM, 23 Oct 2009satio is best among both phones any day any time any where BRAVO for Tom!

Your comment is full with argumentation...LOL

Anyway, I am for the SATIO

  • Kal

Anonymous, 23 Oct 2009I cant find samsung digital cameras in any TOP digital cameras r... moreIt's silly and childish to look for Samsung digicam at top digital cameras review sites. The hard fact is they are at no 3 in compact camera. For arguments sake, even if they managed to fool ordinary camera buyers, how do they manage to fool EISA award juries? Now don't say that those juries were biased too. LOL!

And by the way it's actually you who stated posting your judgments about Samsung build quality. What I have mentioned about SE's keypad issue is well found and well documented. I don't have to try it say that. The subject is camera capability and the way it stands, Satio couldn't outperform Pixon12 even though they had plenty of time. Live with that.

  • Anonymous

Kal, 23 Oct 2009Do you have something substantial to add? I doubt. I have seen y... moreMaybe the world's third largest compact camera maker but that does not prove any of their strong points and competitiveness either. People buy them of course but those people who just like taking pictures in any ways, for everyday use, not looking at the aspects which should be considered in buying a really good camera producing excellent and more accurate photographs. On the other hand, mind you that Sony had started in producing TVs years and years ago before those other electronic companies appeared in the market; not only TVs but professional cameras as well so they had started those technologies, keeping their advancements and just adding improvements in technological aspects from their new discoveries to keep them more competitive and on the lead.

  • secret

So which handphone is really perfect in the world ??!! When new model released in the market surely we have stupid commentary and criticizer.

  • nokia diehard fans

nokia 12 mp camera + xenon flash is coming dec.2010

  • TOM

satio is best among both phones
any day
any time
any where

  • Anonymous

I cant find samsung digital cameras in any TOP digital cameras review site..Lol
1.Canon
2.Sony
3.Nikon
4.Olympus
So what if samsung holds number 3 spot on digicam market share??
They can fool ordinary camera buyers but not camera EXPERTS..

  • daniel

Mark, 22 Oct 2009Try to read the reviews for Sony Ericsson again you will know th... moreDISSAPOINTED? didn't you know what that word means, gsmarena's review claims that satio(vga or 640x480 res.) wins against pixon12(d1 res.)