Motorola MILESTONE preview: First look

31 December 2009
Motorola must have enjoyed the feel of ropes against their back. There's no other explanation for the MILESTONE. They obviously needed to be pushed against the ropes to remember what made them the world's largest manufacturer. It's been a long road for them, with plenty of milestones. But that last one marks the end of a particularly steep downhill stretch.

Sort by:

  • nguyen phi khanh

i like this phone but the price is not really good .If motorola decrease the price to $300 i think i will consider to buy it haha

  • nicksti

arron, 06 Jan 2010did u read it??? its a preview.... not the full review...But it is sad by now that we only get a preview when this phone is a relevant phone on the market.

But that is this site and Motorola for you. Instead posts go up about lackluster SEs all day.

  • arron

Anonymous, 01 Jan 2010hmm....... personally i think that gsmarena has not made a full ... moredid u read it??? its a preview.... not the full review...

  • frandroid

good phone but bad apn and medium processor so i take my future phone google nexus one or iphone 4g !!!

  • Anonymous

please make soon the complete review!

  • Gundul

what? just preview? come on gsm arena. don't be afraid of Motorola, hahaha

  • Anonymous

First. this phone is something that Motorola shows their strategy and power. But, it's not 100% as Legend..(Razr)
Arenateam didn't take whole parts but as they mentioned I love this phone.(it's something that need to use by yourself.)

  • ycs86

hadi2, 03 Jan 2010trackpad ?is beter ' but D-pad is usefull too even n900 ,x2... moreN900 doesn't have a D-pad cuz its keyboard is smaller in size (does not stick out far away from the main display). Whereas Milestone has a larger one, thus adding a D-pad makes it more convenient! Whether to add a D-pad or not, it actually depends on the location of its center of gravity of the device and its UI finger-friendliness.

My point is sooner or later the D-pad will eventually vanish in the not-too-distant future. Also it's surely not so convenient as a trackball or trackpad. So why add a D-pad? Look at hTC, they'll have gone from trackball to trackpad. Why? Cuz trackpad is better than trackball. And the trackball, in turn, is better than the D-pad. That's the way it goes!

  • moto lover

after several years see just a preview from gsm about moto phone !??!
what happened ?

sham to u gsm

this is first android2 at world and you just write preview it after 3 month !?

and where is dext review ???

  • hadi2

ycs86, 03 Jan 2010OK, don't get me wrong! Milestone is not a ugly phone. But it is... moretrackpad ?is beter '
but D-pad is usefull too

even n900 ,x2 or ... dont use trackpad or even D-pad
so you must say thankful to moto

  • ycs86

damo, 03 Jan 2010I love the styling of the milestone, it is much better looking t... moreOK, don't get me wrong! Milestone is not a ugly phone. But it is its chin that makes it not so attractive. Also the D-pad is so "nineties". Com'on, we're now in 2010! Add a trackpad, instead of a painful D-pad.

  • Anonymous

the keys of the keyboard of this phone are awful i have try it in person

  • damo

ycs86, 02 Jan 2010First of all, the appearance of this device is not so attractive... moreI love the styling of the milestone, it is much better looking than the plain, boring design of the iphone.

  • ycs86

First of all, the appearance of this device is not so attractive! The very first thing on which one must judge on a device is the appearance itself. Take the iPhone as an example! It's definitely NOT a UGLY phone.

Specs wise, it's a well-built fantastic phone. But the existing chin.....what the *&$%# Motorola?? Why would one add such chin on a device? Motorola should have come up with a better "shape" design.

  • Damo

Anonymous, 01 Jan 2010hmm....... personally i think that gsmarena has not made a full ... moreThe Milestone does have macro... mine does at least, just change focus settings.

  • sd

Micro SD is up to 32gb not 16

  • Anonymous

~, 01 Jan 2010the keyboard is not qwerty !! it's qwertz !! look at the pictures !!the milestone shown in the gsmarena where the Y and Z have swapped places is a German Milestone, not UK version

  • Anonymous

MOBILEMAN, 31 Dec 2009to big.. THE DESIGN IS POOR and i dont trust in android yet.. it... morefirst, get an English lesson.

second, simple interface is what people want. Simple + lots of apps and fuctions is staple in iphone and it worked. it also works for Android phones.

Anyhow no FM radio doesn't bother me since I don't use it. But here are my pro's and con's:

pro
-full touch (multi touch at that) and keyboard and so SLIM at that.
-5 mp camera with dual LED falsh
-nice processor (although it is down clocked)

con
-keyboard is very fiddlesome. it's not as good as other keyboards (especially compared to that of G1 as it was nicely spaced out)
-what the hell is point of having that nav panel on keyboard
-still a bit buggy (milestone that is)
-camera lacks fuctions

Comparing it to one of top phones that are out, better than HD2 and iphone. N900? not so sure as N900 was smooth as hell.
BUT there is that big android advantage of apps on it. (20K+ i believe) Plus it is slimmest QWERTY as far as I know.

  • Anonymous

Wait, the reviewer said he LIKED the keyboard? He liked the tiny keys? Especially with those giant hands of his?

  • :D

~, 01 Jan 2010the keyboard is not qwerty !! it's qwertz !! look at the pictures !!:D