Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

AnonD-1039478, 27 Apr 2022Why do you need 20 or so apps oepn at same time?? Stupid Idk maybe, to switch between them seamlessly. Like, say I want to use WhatsApp, Youtube, Gmail, Browse the internet, Message someone and use the camera all at the same time, I would want all of them to be open right?

    77, 26 Apr 2022The amount of RAM we need is certainly growing. The average... moreExactly. You are right. Pixel 3a with 4gb ram barely holds more than 5 apps open, and if the camera is one of them... well, bye bye any other apps

      • D
      • Dean
      • Bj8
      • 10 May 2022

      Probably one of the best phones I have ever owned. Had the chance to upgrade to the S22 Ultra but wasn't worth it spec wise. I will continue to stick with the S21 Ultra until a noticeable jump occurs in Samsung's spec list.

        Analog, 06 May 20221 - is it unlocked from Samsung ? or still carrier sponsore... more1 - Yes. This is unlocked version: SM-G998U1 (USA unlocked)
        2 - I don't know if I will be able to flash EU firmware version into this US phone. I can't tell you, because I don't know, but I would like to know that if it is possible.
        3 - Well. I don't think so I would ever do that :D

          The Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G is a fantastic phone. However, it is not perfect and it will not be a serious competitor for Apple until Samsung get their act together.
          As an example of the above statement, I mention here the eSIM (for the US version) which does not work properly.
          Many carriers shy away from enabling this in US, and the ones who did, I suppose they regret it now. Personally I had issues with TMO activation for the eSIM on this particular model, VZW stated that they did not had a single successful eSIM activation on this model, and ATT does not even touch it. Of course SAMSUNG "doesn't know anyting about this"... and therefore the one big thing, which could have been a great feature, is really not working. Overall, the phone is ok, could have been great, but ... it is what it is.

            Xytanox, 02 May 2022I'm from europe and I've bought the US version of... more1 - is it unlocked from Samsung ? or still carrier sponsored in US ?
            2 - if it is factory unlocked you may be able to flash a EU firmware, however I doubt it will work. Hardware may be different ( e.g. radios ).
            3 - move to US :)

              • A
              • Azo
              • X}k
              • 05 May 2022

              rifleman, 03 May 2022Dropped mine too, and the screen went flickering. Had to do... moreWith the new battery the SOT is the same as you purchased the S21 Ultra for the first time or little lesser than that?

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • Lhq
                • 04 May 2022

                Xytanox, 02 May 2022I'm from europe and I've bought the US version of... moreIt's not about the case of unlocking the device. The hardware used for US 5G differs from EU/UK as it operates on different frequencies. The antenna is picking up signals of certain frequencies, thus trying to connect to a complete different frequency other that it's intented manufactured specification is just not doable.

                  • r
                  • rifleman
                  • MMU
                  • 03 May 2022

                  aymansan, 30 Mar 2022I got Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G, 3 months ago, I dropped ... moreDropped mine too, and the screen went flickering. Had to do official repairs, cost me 300 EUR for a new screen, but got a new battery as a result too (not that there were problems with the previous one, but still)

                    I'm from europe and I've bought the US version of S21 Ultra (because of SD888 ofc) and 5G doesn't work, I'm seeing only LTE on. Could someone tell me, if there is any solution to unlock the 5G of US smartphones in europe?

                      • H
                      • Harry
                      • sXe
                      • 02 May 2022

                      Hi I just bought the s21 ultra, but I have a problem, my front camera is blurry and won't go in focus, software or hardware problem?

                        • 7
                        • 77
                        • mXr
                        • 30 Apr 2022

                        Camp, 27 Apr 2022First of all, there's no scenario where you need 20 ap... moreYou're just another typical simplicity guy .
                        16 or 20gb Ram is there, why you complaining, is it costing money or is it heavy too you too carry or you need to put petrol too cost money. Its just there in reserve

                        That's like saying why live in a house when mansion or villa is bigger better. Having reserve, why you triggered? Like saying having extra knowledge or money is not needed. Are you serious or just losr the plot?

                          • 7
                          • 77
                          • mXr
                          • 30 Apr 2022

                          Camp, 27 Apr 2022First of all, there's no scenario where you need 20 ap... moreExcessive RAM than you need will never hurt your smartphone. With the rise of gaming smartphones like Asus ROG Phone, Black Shark, and recently launched Samsung Note 20 with dedicated tabs and inbuilt controller support designed to play X Box titles from a smartphone, smartphone gaming will surely touch new heights, sooner than later. And an excessive RAM as a backup can't be a bad idea.

                          So, If you're a hardcore gamer, investing little more for the shake of a better gaming experience makes a lot of sense. But if you're a casual user who likes to play temple run, candy crush, unicorn dash, angry birds like titles on your smartphone

                            • 7
                            • 77
                            • mXr
                            • 30 Apr 2022

                            Camp, 27 Apr 2022First of all, there's no scenario where you need 20 ap... moreAnother big difference is RAM usage. Smartphones RAM comes preloaded with system apps and operating systems. Everything you see on a smartphone is nothing but apps loaded on a Smartphone's RAM, once you boot it. Android itself is based on the Unix (modifies Linux Kernel) operating system made out of Linux, written mainly in Java, C, and C++ languages. It is due to this nature of RAM usage in a smartphone that you never get your marketed RAM completely free.

                            on the other hand, Desktops and laptops use free RAM. Complete RAM is available for you to use and re-allocate. If your system has 8Gb RAM, you can use an entire 8Gb of RAM to load applications and perform multi-tasking and is always ready to be used unlike RAM present in smartphones.

                              • 7
                              • 77
                              • mXr
                              • 30 Apr 2022

                              Camp, 27 Apr 2022First of all, there's no scenario where you need 20 ap... moreS21 Ultra is a near-perfect example of memory management. The quantity of swap space utilized grows as the number of free RAM reduces. S21 Ultra’s 12GB of RAM in Android Phone allowed it to store all of the games in memory, beginning as Subway Surfers, 1945 Air Force, Minecraft, Elder Scrolls Blades, as well as lastly Genshim Impact. There were no apps that were removed. people began Chrome to test the S21 Ultra’s limits, & when experts had 12 tabs open & Chrome had utilized 2.2GB of RAM in Android Phone, Android Phone was forced to kill Minecraft. This is quite impressive. The movie contains a more detailed overview of what occurred.

                              Samsung 12GB RAM in Android Phone Galaxy S21 Ultra has textbook memory management and can run many apps at the same time.
                              On Pixel 3 XL, things were a little different. It could run three games at the same time in RAM: Subway Surfers, 1945 Airforce, as well as Candy Crush. Subway Surfers was killed off and erased from storage whenever experts launched Brawl Stars. As people expected, the lesser amount of RAM in Android Phone implies that significantly fewer applications require swap storage, and just a few may be stored in memory at any given time.

                                • 7
                                • 77
                                • mXr
                                • 30 Apr 2022

                                Camp, 27 Apr 2022First of all, there's no scenario where you need 20 ap... moreIn the context of Android, more RAM or more free RAM means Android can keep more sleeping programs in the RAM so that they can be ready to be quickly resumed when you return back to the apps. More RAM means Android is going to spend less of its time killing and reloading apps from the internal memory/sd card, and instead spend more time doing actual work you care about. This means that more RAM usually give you better/faster task-switching. Also, more RAM means your homescreen is less likely to be killed; and you won't experience that 10-second-wait-that-feels-like-forever. Having more RAM also allows you to run complex apps that naturally requires a lot of memory, e.g. photo/video editor, complex games, etc.

                                In the context of Android, more RAM or more free RAM means Android can keep more sleeping programs in the RAM so that they can be ready to be quickly resumed when you return back to the apps. More RAM means Android is going to spend less of its time killing and reloading apps from the internal memory/sd card, and instead spend more time doing actual work you care about. This means that more RAM usually give you better/faster task-switching. Also, more RAM means your homescreen is less likely to be killed; and you won't experience that 10-second-wait-that-feels-like-forever. Having more RAM also allows you to run complex apps that naturally requires a lot of memory, e.g. photo/video editor, complex games, etc.



                                External memory (hard drives, SSDs) is used as swap space on pcs, laptops, as well as servers. Android Phone employs a slightly different approach. Android Phone compresses the data as well as writes it back into RAM rather than writing it to memory. Following the Unix/Linux practice of using “z” to represent compression, this is referred to as zRAM. If we assume a 50% compression ratio, we can decrease 128KB of RAM to 64KB, freeing up 64KB. Linux kernel treats zRAM in the same way it treats standard swap space. Because compressed memory cannot be read directly, it must be decompressed & copied back, just like classic swapping-in.

                                Swap space (particularly zRAM) is, nevertheless, a finite resource. If Android Phone runs out of swap space, it has to become more aggressive and begin removing applications that have already been loaded into memory. Because Android Phone needs to create room for the new application you wish to launch, an application you planned to return to may be forced to shut down.

                                  • 7
                                  • 77
                                  • mXr
                                  • 30 Apr 2022

                                  Camp, 27 Apr 2022First of all, there's no scenario where you need 20 ap... moreWhat all this means is that the more RAM you have, the more apps you can keep in memory simultaneously without Android killing off older apps. Less RAM means that Android needs to remove apps from memory more frequently.

                                  Yes, more RAM is considered to be a better option. With more RAM, your phone can access data faster. In addition to this, you can switch between the apps faster that are already running in the background.

                                    • C
                                    • Camp
                                    • uyx
                                    • 27 Apr 2022

                                    77, 27 Apr 2022Don't you your brain think off so many things at the s... moreFirst of all, there's no scenario where you need 20 apps all at the same time. Secondly, if you think multi-tasking makes you better than "simpleton" then you are dumb. Perfecting one thing can be better then just doing many. Thirdly, free RAM is a wasted RAM. Why do you need extra 8gb of RAM if it won't be utilized properly? If you do some research ty you'll see, there's not so much difference between 8gb smart phones and those which have more. The difference in performance an be noticeable between 4gb and 8gb, but for now 8gb is more than enough even for 20 apps working at the same time if the phone is well optimized. One can argue that 12 gb is future proof, but mostly phones are not used so long by power hungry users. So, for now 8 gb is a sweet spot.

                                      • 7
                                      • 77
                                      • swC
                                      • 27 Apr 2022

                                      AnonD-1039478, 27 Apr 2022Why do you need 20 or so apps oepn at same time?? Stupid Don't you your brain think off so many things at the same time.? It's called multitasking, you're just a simpleton basic simple guy. You're the very 2% minority, can't take you seriously too your post, nor replying to puppets.

                                        • D
                                        • AnonD-1039478
                                        • nw}
                                        • 27 Apr 2022

                                        77, 26 Apr 2022The amount of RAM we need is certainly growing. The average... moreWhy do you need 20 or so apps oepn at same time?? Stupid