Samsung Galaxy Xcover Pro
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy Xcover Pro

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Dev

Anonymous, 12 Jan 2020Not bad, but too big, 6.3 inch tft screen is big for that 4050mh... moreDoes the xcover pro field have buttons? I wish I could get the xcover pro without buttons and smaller 5inch screen

  • alex nurbel

Zakalwe, 22 Feb 2020Thank you, I'll see how I can adapt this!save it in a file called "backup.xml".
put it on your phone.

in tasker, 3 dot menu, import data, from local drive, select the file backup.xml

from now, you have my tasker setting on your own app. modify stuff to see what happens, and from that it's very easy.

tasker might ask for new permission, use adb to grant them.

alex nurbel, 22 Feb 2020gsmarena fcked up the syntax of the code, you can find it during... moreThank you, I'll see how I can adapt this!

  • alex nurbel

[deleted post]gsmarena fcked up the syntax of the code, you can find it during 24hours on this link :
https://codeshare.io/2KMyqo

ALex nurbel, 20 Feb 2020xcover button can be set up with tasker to work even when screen... moreInteresting, any hint on how to do that? I'm only a beginner at Tasker. I have used Tasker to set the Google Assistant to appear on long-pressing the XCover key, and this works fine when the screen is on, but not when it is off. I have tried adding the state of screen being off as a trigger in addition to the Tasker 2ndary App, but that does not help. Looks to me like the button basically does not exist when the screen is off. But I guess there may be some trick to wake it?

  • ALex nurbel

xcover button can be set up with tasker to work even when screen is shut, i have set mine to flashlight on single click when screen shut, compass on single click when screen on.

works fine, still not everyone know how to set up tasker so i think samsung didn't work very hard on this phone software.

Zakalwe, 19 Feb 2020As annoying as it is, this button-behaviour was already present ... more...and people were already discussing this problem three years ago with the XCover 4 (not 4S):
https://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=­cache:2_ZHigvpJT8J:https://developer.samsung.com­/forum/thread/-samsung-xcover-4-user-button-issu­e

So yeah, doesn't look like anything Samsung is in a hurry to change. :(

Anonymous, 18 Feb 2020The already mentioned problems related to the 2 hardware-buttons... moreAs annoying as it is, this button-behaviour was already present on the XCover-key of the XCover 4S. So I don't think it is a bug resulting from urgency - Samsung either wants it this way for whatever reason, or they just cannot be bothered to change it.

  • Anonymous

The already mentioned problems related to the 2 hardware-buttons is actually another reason why i returned the phone.
I can confirm the following:
The 2 hardware-buttons DO NOT WORK when the phone is LOCKED, more exactly, they do not work when the SCREEN is OFF.
They do work when the screen is ON, or when the phone is completely unlocked.
When the screen is on and on the lock-screen, the 2 buttons work if the app they invoke does not need unlocking the phone.
The REDICULOUS thing about it is that if i configured the "xcover button" to flash-light, i would still first have to wake the screen, to then press the button to turn on the flash light. This makes the button rather useless.
All in all, my impression, samsung threw the phone far too early into the market, there was no time for (beta)testing and quality checking...
it really is a shame because i like the idea of the phone.

Zakalwe, 17 Feb 2020They certainly work when unlocked (just tested both to be sure),... moreYes..sorry my bad. I wanted to say locked screen.
Thank you very much for the answer.
Regards,
Eduardo

EduardoValente, 17 Feb 2020Hi! It's been reported that the programmable keys (xcover key ... moreThey certainly work when unlocked (just tested both to be sure), but I guess you may have meant _locked_? If you configure them in the settings to work when locked (must be done for each individually), then they work when locked - BUT the screen must be on. I.e. they will work from the lock screen, but not when the screen is off, and I suppose that could be a serious limit to their usefulness.

Underwatch, is that a game? I am not into phone games, I am afraid. If you point me where to find it, I may be able to test whether it starts, though.

  • EduardoValente

Zakalwe, 16 Feb 2020Well, I am quite pleased with mine. I cannot say I have noticed ... moreHi!
It's been reported that the programmable keys (xcover key and the one on top) doesn't work while the device is unlocked and, that underwatch also doesn't work. Do you had experience one of the claims?
Regards,
Eduardo

  • Anonymous

Can you guys that have this phone already, post your daily usage, for example SOT(screen on time), call time, social media consumption time (youtube, face, insta etc) gaming time (assuming you are gaming on this phone), and what percentage of battery u have left at the end of a day. Thank you in advance

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 15 Feb 2020this phone made by korea company, but cannot buy in korea.... ... moreOverseas. Then prepared to get robbed by customs. Or overpricing resellers.

Or just plain "willingness to pay" overpriced local prices. smh.

Funmap, 14 Feb 2020So I am returning the phone and advise everybody to think twice ... more"If you really need a well protected phone I would go for a Samsung S series phone with an IP rating and buy a Spigen tough armor case 😊"


Even the best case won't protect a phone enough, at the end its electronic device inside glass and plastic....
The difference will be in the cost to repair the and how easy it is.

Lcd ips on that matter have a big advantage over amoled.


On the blue tint of the screen, I noticed it too because I had a yellowish phone (s10e), but now it looks just as natural as what the s10 was. You get used pretty quickly.

Double tap to wake on the other hand, i am disappointed to see Samsung didn't bother putting it.

Well, I am quite pleased with mine. I cannot say I have noticed the screen being blue-tinted, which does not mean it isn't - I am fairly undemanding in such things. I dare say though that if it is, then it is not on the level of being "OMG it's all blue!", and rather something that becomes detectable only when comparing to a different phone side by side. It sure looks more blue than my iPhone SE, but those are known for a yellow tint, and comparing to a P30 Pro in my household I cannot see any significant difference.

Tap to wake indeed looks to be unavailable. Having the fingerprint reader set to always on (was the default on mine) means just touching the button rather than pressing it is enough to wake and unlock, and that suits me fine.

I agree that the battery life seems not exactly spectacular so far, but I have done a lot of installing and copying, and I will reserve final judgement on this until things settle down and my usage normalizes.

  • Anonymous

Kinda disappointing to see two bad reviews here. But then I looked back on the s10e battery replacement video and I just can't stand that dumb breakable design.

So many hoops only to replace the battery which the maker can stop making anytime and no third party replacement due to it being built in.

  • Anonymous

this phone made by korea company, but cannot buy in korea....

where i can buy?

  • Anonymous

Disappointed, i am returning this phone.
There are too many drawbacks and sacrefices and too many little bugs in everyday implementations.

The "lengthy" screen-format can be seen as ok, but since it is only 1080 pixles broad, typing on the software-keyboard can be more difficult than with any smaller standard phone. All in all not too practical, and e.g. there is a bug in the implementation of tripple-tap-enlargement (accessibility) - the phone begins to lag and only scrolls the screen very slowly like in 1980s home computing times :-(

Then i did not manage to get ANY HDMI connection to a monitor or TV to work. Don't know if the phone implements a type of SlimPort protocole or HML but no type of USB-to-HDMI HUB seems to work. I tested 2 HUBs from different brands, these HUBs also had standard USB (2.0) ports - the HUBs were detected fine because i could connect a mouse / keyboard into the HUBs and the phone would detect them. But HDMI would always stay black. Not even the alternative of Miracast to a monitor seems to work, aparantly there is no miracast implementation. So any type of connection to an external screen seems difficult.

There is also no way of waking the screen by tapping on it, one always has to press the power button.

The screen itself (apart from the mentioned resolution problem) is nice and bright and i do generally sometimes prefer IPS over OLED, but it has a strange blueish Color distortion.

All together … a shame, i greatly enjoy the removable battery and good housing.

Really whish all phone manufacturers would go this direction.

For what Samsung Galaxy Pro offers technicaly i consider the phone too pricy and there are too many drawbacks, issues and problems.

  • Funmap

So I am returning the phone and advise everybody to think twice before buying it:

- The display is Not good. It has a very blueish tint. It honestly hurts to look at it for an extended time.
- The display lacks all individual settings. You cannot make any changes. The blue light filter can only be set to on or off manually.
- The battery life is not good despite the large battery, which is mainly because of the display, which is a not very energy efficient TFT display. If I use the phone heavily it does not make it through the day, compared to a phone with an OLED display.
- The price is much too high considering the specs, especially with regards to the processor and camera, which are basically the same as in the Samsung A50.

In the end you pay and sacrifice too much if you buy this phone. If you really need a well protected phone I would go for a Samsung S series phone with an IP rating and buy a Spigen tough armor case 😊