Samsung Galaxy Z Fold3 5G
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy Z Fold3 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Xd why people get angry about note have sd slot ofc it will disappear like 3.5 jack

When the 3.5 disappear people buy a wireless headphone thats cost like 300 dolar or more for the company not like the 50$ with wired one so why they will bring back the 3.5mm jack??

And same with sd go buy a (Monthly subscription) from the company and they will get thousands in the end of the year and you still want have a sd slot just forget about it and that's not bad thing for the company

And if you can't afford the wireless headphone or the subscription then don't buy a 1900 $ phone

Like this phone cost 1900$ dolar anyway so people who will buy it will note have a problem with small subscriptions anyway...


Stil if you can't afford it there's cheaper choices for you the company don't want you to leave and fo outside so you have the (A) and (m) series who still have the 3.5 and sd for people who can't afford the expensive choices so don't be angry with them in their (flagship) and top tier phone because semple its not for the average user like student or simple worker so they should give you care about the options its for samsung fans and business owners

So sheesh stop talking about cheap things like charger in the box or sd slor or 3.5 in the high range phones who cost 1000$

  • R

Which is the best phone fold 2 or fold 3

  • Akfa

I love my fold 2

NeoGul, 09 Sep 2021Thats what they said about the esim in my region. All rubbish. It can get up to 2.4 Gbps as of now.

  • Agreed

Q8 man, 09 Sep 2021I used this phone for just a day and I sell it because of t... moreI tested the phone hands on on 3 occasion and even had the phone for a day.
Mainly these are what i can agree on.
- fast draining battery and at max u can use is 6~8hrs if u are using the big phablet display. (but that could be processor end issue so needs time to fix)
- lags when transition from closed to open phablet display, unlike their marketing time when it was shown instantaneous; its actually not and some apps can even hang.
- slight bulge seen on one side plus minor heating issues; not sure if it will pose as a big issue later on but u are dealing with 2 separate batteries here....
- screen is better than before but crease where it folds is now even more obvious and some parts not sensitive to touch near that area.
- side button not sensitive at times, even fingerprint reading not as accurate as before.
(but this might gets corrected in patching later)
- Solid hinge but at times not easy to close without using 2 hands, and even closed, i noticed its same as predecessors, has a gap....not sure for what that gap is for.

Overall, its a good improvement over the earlier but still not worth the take yet.

StefanPetre, 09 Sep 2021The wifi 6e not working, they saying it will be later worki... moreThats what they said about the esim in my region. All rubbish.

  • Q8 man

I used this phone for just a day and I sell it because of the battery I took withe me only 8 hours to die !!! I think samsung should think about the battery in next generation and the is heavy for a flip phone also .
Thanks

The wifi 6e not working, they saying it will be later working with a software update.

  • Anonymous

NeoGul, 04 Sep 2021I will stick to what I have been saying that as a long time... morenice essay,

Dr. Stephen Strange, 04 Sep 2021These are not as fragile as it seems. I have just purchased... moreTrue that! (build quality)

Whilst the lack of dust and water rating might make a new user less keen to take one of these to ‘burning man’ (or deserts/beaches in general), the actual feel of the phone is exceptional.
The Victus front screen (for which users will do much of their ‘quick interactions’ such as media selection and starting a phone call) is so nice and the body design is so perfect to hold (where the curved hinge feels beautiful to curve the hand around. The height of the phone, and the width are like the phones we used to have (back when ergonomics of a handset was a selling point), and the materials themselves, with the fit and finish, are a rewarding sensation to owners; you know you have a PHONE!

The battery life being rated at 4400mAh is probably a ‘more accurate claim’, as the Fold2 has a disclaimer that the battery has a capacity around 4500mAh but might be as low as 4365mWh.
Id rather underpromise and OVER deliver.

I haven’t felt a phone that felt anywhere near as premium as the Fold series for over a decade.
I have touched many ‘metalised plastics’ and designs that are ill conceived to be an actual phone.
The iPhone 7 did feel special on release, and the HTC Velocity had some nice contours, but the Fold series is like if the Nokia flagship communicator (9500) procreated with an HTC TouchPro2.

Regarding great laptop brands I’d start with Asus. (hovering just below them I’d place Lenovo and maybe Toshibas). Like many things, the more you pay for build (and not features), the more you are likely to get a more reliable unit.
Around a decade ago the laptop price point to spend to buy a reliable unit was around $1200 australian dollars. Five years prior to that it was around $1600.
Now I wouldn’t dare spend less than $800, but to be honest they mostly seem like junk.

There is an Aussie firm, ‘Black Widow’ that was making top tier reliable laptops...

We just have to acknowledge that you get what you pay for.. as an example, HewlettPackard often give a lot of features (connectors and jacks) and look good at the spec sheet level, but are often the first of their price point to fail. (and they even bought out Compaq to be their ‘cheap’ branded parts).

I have bought Compaq laptops that are flagship and brilliant (eg Armada), and the same can be said of any manufacturer- the flagship is probably a great unit..

For that reason you are probably best to buy whichever part is discounted the most..
eg a few weeks ago a $2700 Asus was selling at a local office supplies store for $1300 on clearance. (It had an Nvidia rtx3070, 16GB of fast RAM, and a 512GB NVME drive as well as high refresh rate screen etc,.. all in a lightweight package that was ‘military spec’ for build... )

Last years model on clearance or ‘some bargain’, might let you buy into a tier of quality that will suit you better than 5-10% speed is likely to serve you.
Just don’t forget to touch the actual keyboard if that is of interest.. if it is for infield use exclusively; ‘less moving parts is ideal’ (but most laptops have solid state storage nowadays). Weight is a factor we pay for (where less weight costs more$$).
Look to see if the cooling is copper rather than aluminium as things like that can indicate the pricepoint (copper being expensive).
Try to flex the chassis etc.. All laptops are build differently.
I like physical switches for turning wifi off (and camera covers, or an LED light to show me it is in use).. multi microphone arrays are great for clear voice pickup (especially in noisy places), but these things, and stuff like physical volume wheels have all gone absent as laptop prices have come down.
For most users keyboard quality and gloss or matt screen is the ‘biggest’ decision.
(gloss generally improves contrast, improving readability, but may just make the window behind you cause fatigue when viewing the screen during daylight hours...).

I could go on, but my point is- write a list of things you want/need, and then spend what you have to to get them (and try to ignore stuff that you don’t need that will waste your dollars towards ‘features’, as build quality (and reliability) matters most.

A trick I recommend is buy a high quality (not large capacity) SD card and keep it in the laptop and save a second copy of your mission critical files there as well.
(you’ll thank me when the lappy dies and you can walk away with your precious data, whilst ‘warranty’ wipes your device to factory settings)
:-) ‘welcome

Dr. Stephen Strange, 04 Sep 2021Then which are consumer oriented companies ? I really want ... moreI will stick to what I have been saying that as a long time Samsung galaxy Android user - and always buying in twos, getting my first non Samsung Android was with the Huawei Mate 20X - still working even better now than when I got it - that didn't stop me from buying the 20 Ultra - which I can honestly say that isn't as good as the Mate 20X in my use case.

Then with the Fold 2, I was getting really frustrated with the battery life and can honestly say it's like that of the Note 8, then I got the Xiaomi Mi Mix Fold - and that for me changed everything.

So honestly, I can say it right here and now that products from Xiaomi and Huawei are have a focus on consumer needs, and YES, you can plan on them like you would your laptop.

Samsung products are generally fragile and very very expensive to fix. But what kicks it for me is the systematic use of software limitations (they create) to "outdate" an expensive and relatively new hardware. That is beyond greed, it's essentially a form of manipulation.

Mr Lack , 04 Sep 2021hello now already 2021 still no SD slot and earphone? the ... moreThese are not as fragile as it seems. I have just purchased Fold 1, one and half year used. Really built nicely, even folding screen is almost perfect. I wanted to use for 3-4 months before i can decide to switch over for newer device. Even battery lasts long enough. Form factor is not much an issue. Yes, but you have to take care of; because it is built differently.

NeoGul, 04 Sep 2021You've written quite intelligently, and it's inde... moreThen which are consumer oriented companies ? I really want to know, as i wanted to buy laptop. And i always feel that we can't balance our need, our want and time period for which we are purchasing product. I am buying laptop with 5 year horizon and will be changing there after. As you say, if some good company is consumer oriented, we have to support that; so those companies remain in market and viable too.

  • Straight Forward

Mr Lack , 04 Sep 2021hello now already 2021 still no SD slot and earphone? the ... moreTrue... people with black money will go for it only. Its totally idiotic approach to spend so much amount for a worthless Phone

WhiteDragem, 04 Sep 2021Not arguing with you, but raising awareness on the themes y... moreYou've written quite intelligently, and it's indeed a "forced" market - which is very unfortunate.
What makes this worse is that most marketers are employed to hype the new products and are consequently labelled "Tech reviewers" on YouTube and in their online "articles"

I think the lack of innovation in the battery sector of telecoms technology; which would allow longer lasting cells or more capacity in a smaller form has birthed all kinds of fake "advancements" in the CPU development which in real life doesn't match what is being rated.

I find very few OEMs consumer oriented, unfortunately, these OEMs are either downplayed or ignored BUT that doesn't in any way, shape or form change the reality of their products' practicality, durability, reliability and efficiency. Most importantly, they offer better value for one's money.

E, 03 Sep 2021ehem, as processors get more efficient (like the 4nm thats ... moreBeautiful thank you

NeoGul, 03 Sep 2021Very wrong. The more processing power the more tasks a proc... moreNot arguing with you, but raising awareness on the themes you have raised here (processor 'evolution');

Very few pundits care in the slightest about this aspect of the phone (heck I've sold many hundreds of laptops and seldom see 10% of buyers even touch the display stocks' keyboard).
Users just want stuff to work and do as they need..

If users understood what was 'under the hood' marketing would be very different for a lot of products (eg latest xbox built entirely for marketing sheet spec war vs a highly customised playstation silicon that, when utilised, will vastly outperform the part that, by spec sheet looks stronger).
Consumers are easy to manipulate because most people know enough math to understand bigger numbers MUST be better (maybe not in golf).
Reality is often not the same as 'implied' strengths: eg digital camera sensors- 4 megapixel FOVEAN sensor is roughly equal [i]effective[/i] resolution as a 16 megapixel XTRANS sensor which is roughly equal (in effective resolution) to a 24 megapixel CMOS sensor.
Naturally CMOS rules the market cause consumers are 'white/yellow belts' with this information (just enough education to really get themselves hurt).

Notice how not one person is asking if Samsung utilised CPUs with the 64kb level 1 cache in the cortex a78 part of the CPU..?
A78 vs A77 Level 1 cache is generally halved. Yes it can double bandwidth in several part of the die, but the power savings generally are measured by the top frequency performance/use - where no doubt the 15%die shrink in this area of the chip allows higher speed per watt (cache areas run hot, halving the cache from the a76/and allows cooler running, cooler running means we can push harder with the speed before we hit the same thermals, and there is an envelope with CPUs where power efficiency drops off with increased heat).

So, the 'low power cores' with MORE level 1 cache are likely to outperform in some tasks (cache heavy tasks) than the replacement part (until it runs faster to equal performance).

I've had an actuary friend be caught out when his shiny new i7 (ultra low power variant) magically underpeform vs his older i5 CPU (which had vastly more cache). The rated speeds on the new part WERE technically/'by the spec sheet' noticeably increased, but real world performance went to the older part as cache and large number tables (ie excel spreadsheets that the actuary worked on) go 'hand in hand'.

Cache is a great way to stabilise performance (hit targets) and is why many first gen CPUs are cache heavy/slow speed until the manufacturer learns how to thermally optimise the CPU design. (And then ramp up the numbers yearly for new sales)

It's why the 'wintel consortium' had to gimp (get in mediocre performance) my older Intel processors with huge cache vs the newer units.
When my four-five year old CPUS can outperform new ones (with incredibly larger listed speeds) it might cause consumers hesitation. (Even if just a few benchmarks can show it)
Fortunately Intel can force firmware update my CPUs through windoze and turn off large amounts of my cache. (Yes I lost 15-20% of my CPU speed permanently, even if I boot Linux now, cause a theoretical exploit that no human could ever pull off was justified as reason to kill off last gen processors (just as new ones come to market).
For the record, these tactics are used constantly by a few companies and is why we need to educate consumers to buy from ethical/pro consumer manufacturers and organisations.

Anyhow, technical rant not necessary, but the rabbit hole is deep, and many do not know how to navigate it.
CPU numbers (rated speeds) are not as important as we think, rather the implementation.
The highly customised CPU in the Playstation 5 can run laps around the Xbox series X (in large due to the cache customisation, but also the system buses and additional chips). By the numbers, most consumers will believe that the competitors part is more powerful 'cause the numbers suggest so'.
And that is the purpose of those numbers nowadays... easy to hoodwink consumers (we all know BASIC math).

Now whether software is written to utilise specific hardware is the trillion dollar question.
For our phones - that often means Web browsers that are optimised for aspects of our CPUs (dedicated silicon for handling software calls), otherwise CPUS have to run at high speeds..

For Web browsing and youtubing etc (most consumption tasks), an ancient processor can do these tasks...

Unless Macroshaft touch it... at which point they will implement tech simply to kill competitors (like how they ramped up Web extensions during the war with symbianOS and palmOS so that their streamlined devices would choke), the same Web technologies they have recently HAD to pull from their browsers to improve performance...

A few companies that constantly do this operate on logic that they don't care if it hurts their own devices/'end users' experience, just so long as it hurts the competitors tech more (eg Nvidia with physX/hairworx/RT, Mickeysoft with, well 'everything' they touch..)

If pro consumer companies could operate in a universe with educated end users, we all COULD BE using devices from 10 years ago. (And in many cases 15-20years ago).
Sure the cortex main core on the new CPUS is better at Machine Learning.. (than the last gen), but for my internet banking, it doesn't help me.
In a year or three they can state how that machine learning supercore might have a potential (theoretical) security exploit and disable a large part of the silicon (to 'protect us', naturally) and then resell us the same tech (albeit faster 'by the numbers')

Smaller fabrication processors allow making CPUs more battery efficient (reduced heat equals greater performance per watt), but they generally will push the speeds up cause that is what sells chips.

It's why our OS allows running software in low power mode (and is the default setting in android, yes?)

Only a few people are CAD rendering and running huge spreadsheets etc that require high end /cutting edge tech. Those people generally know who they are, or their 'unique requirements'.

For most users, any modern technology is enough to meet their needs.

DEX and gaming are reasons for MOAR POWA!

  • Mr Lack

hello now already 2021 still no SD slot and earphone?
the price tottaly insane
u can buy a car instead of this fragile item

E, 03 Sep 2021ehem, as processors get more efficient (like the 4nm thats ... moreVery wrong. The more processing power the more tasks a processor can handle simultaneously, the more power it needs.
In 2014, phones needed lower battery capacities to handle what they did unlike what their present tasks currently entail (powered by more efficient processors.)

You need to leave the fiction world, be informed and come back to reality - this is 2021, people want more from their phones and except you draw power from air, you need larger capacity batteries on gadgets.

  • E

Joker, 30 Aug 2021Samsung is dead since 2014. The last phones that really cal... moreehem, as processors get more efficient (like the 4nm thats being developed) we dont need hyperlarge 8000mAh baterry. move on from the past and move to the future. Its not 2014 anymore.