Sony Xperia 1 II
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1 II

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

Anonymous, 29 May 2020I believe the person that you a replying to is just trying ... moreTann Hauser replied to my comment.

I'm guessing you both didn't understand my comment.

I stated 'some people can discern this difference on a phone, the people who are adapt at looking at high dpi images' which means yes, there are people who can notice the difference.

Anyways, you don't buy phone cause has a 4k panel same reason you don't buy a phone with 120hz. You're buying a phone not a screen. Look at the other specs and software. If you're not using 3.5mm jack or photo pro, you're paying for extra features you're not using.

  • Anonymous

Tann Hauser, 29 May 2020There is so much more to this phone than just 4K screen. A... moreI believe the person that you a replying to is just trying to convince himself that 4k is not visible as he will obviously not buy this phone and needs to think that he is not missing out on anything.
The truth is if you play a side by side comparison between 4k and hd (there are plenty on you tube) you can easily tell a difference. And that is on half the screen. But to do this you must have a 4k screen to begin with. I'm sure when he upgrades to a 4k screen he will not want to go back to hd.
We all know that if it was Sony with hd and all other brands 4k that the comments on here would be that Sony doesn't even have 4k which is a necessity in 2020. Sad really

Exyvia, 29 May 2020Yes buying a phone solely on the 4k screen is laughable but... moreThere is so much more to this phone than just 4K screen.
And I beg to differ, 20/20 vision(380 ppi level) is just a standardised testing level for optic aid assesment. Most people have better vision than that, and can certainly discern 4K res on a 6,5 inch screen 40 cm away, as the viewing angle is the same as some 65 inch TV 4 meters away. Its simple math.

Smithravi, 28 May 2020Actual picture taken by DPR, https://www.dpreview.com/s... moreSonys processing doesnt need work, its HDR processing is on point, not overdoing the shadow extrapolation too much as to look unnatural. The shot would come out the same or even better than the one managed in lightroom, IF the guy behind the camera had used HDR option under P mode for that scene.
I am preplexed how the DP photographer "doesnt know" where HDR and DRO options are, just like in the same mirrorless standalone cam UI, he must have reviewed so many mirrorless Alpha cameras so far, that behave in the same way. I would expect that low level of knowledge from trend reviewers like cNet, DxO, etc, but not from professional grade cam rewiewers.
J Bagnell noticed that behaviour too.

But DP is obviously gonna, as usually, review the camera just as another smartphone app, using only apps auto, expecting autoHDR on out of the box, that Mirorrless DSLRs dont use either. And then of course complain about DR.

Same story with Xperia cam reviews every year.

Ultimate Reviewer, 29 May 2020My point for making these comments is to advise people agai... moreYes buying a phone solely on the 4k screen is laughable but people have different vision - some people can discern this difference on a phone, the people who are adapt at looking at high dpi images.

You're assuming this phone is for the average user, to which, I'd recommend a different phone as they'll be paying for film and photo pro which they probably won't use, hence all the people whinging about the price.

  • LWI 888

Ultimate Reviewer, 29 May 2020Bro what? Do you even know what you're talking about? Human... moreMy friend, I wish I had you in the store with me when I bought 2 successive 4k-screen Xperias in a row (XZ Premium, then Sony 1)! You're 100% correct! It's negligible to the naked human eye & all it does is deplete the battery capacity faster. Don't worry what the others say about your comments. You buy wisely & they DON'T!

Anonymous, 29 May 2020It's your opinion and that's ok. Then just don't buy the so... moreMy point for making these comments is to advise people against blindly buying this phone simply because they see that 4k resolution spec. YOU WON'T NOTICE A DIFFERENCE. The difference between phone screens and TVs screens are gigantic. With such a big display you need 4k to get an accurate detailed image. While 4k isn't necessary on such a small screen.

Dante101, 29 May 2020Actually, human weren't mean to see any difference between ... moreBro what? Do you even know what you're talking about? Humans' eyes simply can't see the difference between 4k and 1440p on such small screens. That's the point I am making. I don't know what nonsensical garbage you're spitting out, however. Ask every professional and they will tell you the same thing I just said. 4K is unnecessary on a phone screen. That's why Samsung doesn't include it in their devices. They rather focus on color accuracy, brightness, and refresh rate over some gimmick that no one will be able to take advantage of.

  • Anonymous

Ultimate Reviewer, 29 May 2020Again even if the Galaxy s20 ultra caps out at 1080p when y... moreIt's your opinion and that's ok. Then just don't buy the sony if refresh rate is what concerns you more. I don't know what you want to gain by making these comments. If someone wants the high resolution just let him be.

Speaking for myself, I don't really care for neither 4k or the refresh rate, coming from an HTC 10 which has 1440p at 60Hz. The only comparison for resolution difference I have here is an old Nexus 5 with 1080p Display, and at least there I can see a difference to 1440p. I will see if there is a gain with 4k when I have the xperia here.

And about your comparison with a TV screen: These comparisons really don't make much sense in my opinion. The pixels are only "spread out" if you're pressing your nose on screen, but normally you (should) sit a few meters away from it. And then a TV screen isn't that much bigger than a phone that you're holding in your hand. So if you can see a difference between a 1080p and 4K Monitor from a few meters away I don't know why it shouldn't make at least a small difference on a phone right in front of you.

Ultimate Reviewer, 29 May 2020 What are you even trying to say with your first sentence?... moreActually, human weren't mean to see any difference between 60 hz and 120 hz too because of our eyes' characteristics. But we do see the difference. Same can be said for 4k, people do see the difference.
4k screen itself will reduce battery, if they added higher refresh rate too, there won't be much battery left for a full day. Maybe Sony wanted to offer something others aren't, a 4k screen rather than higher refresh rate that everyone is doing.

Anonymous, 29 May 2020I really don't get the thing about the high refresh rate. I... moreAgain even if the Galaxy s20 ultra caps out at 1080p when you go 120fps. YOU STILL WONT SEE A DIFFERENCE. This is due to just how small a phone screen is. 4k only matters on big flatscreens TV's. Where the pixels are so spread out having 4k can make a significant difference. Also the OnePlus 8 Pro provides 1440p at 120fps while retaining decent battery life.

Anonymous, 29 May 2020And 120hz is not available at 1440p. So you are comparing 1... moreI don't think you understand how resolution works. Like I said you won't notice a difference between 1080p and 4k on a smartphone screen. Also, the one plus 8 pro supports 1440p 120fps. That display completely outclasses the Sony display.

  • Anonymous

Ultimate Reviewer, 28 May 2020The things is even the reasons you listed above are worthle... moreI really don't get the thing about the high refresh rate. I haven't looked for the Oppo, but the Samsung S20 Ultra only manages 120Hz at 1080p. With the full resolution (1440p) it caps at 60Hz. I mean if you want to say that the sony display would be to slow you also have to consider that Samsung only manages the higher refresh rate when the S20 scales down the resolution to 1/4 of what the Xperia uses. At full resolution (1440p vs 4k) both screens use the same refresh rate. And sony has their motion blur reduction feature that emulates a 90Hz display while keeping the full resolution of the phone. We will see how useful the mbr is when we got the phone, but even without we have 1440p@60Hz vs 4K@60Hz.

I have a Gaming Monitor with 144Hz and yes, it's higher refresh rate can be nice. But not so nice that I want to lose that much resolution of the display. And also 120Hz drains the battery much much faster than 60Hz, another sacrifice I don't want to make.

Anonymous, 29 May 2020There is more to 4k than just sharpness (which, not always,... more
What are you even trying to say with your first sentence? There is simply no situations were 4K on a phone screen will actual serve any use. It's impossible for the naked human eye to see the difference on such smalls screens. A well-calibrated 1080p display can still produce better colors than Sony's 4K as well. However, you can see 120fps. It is something that is very noticeable on the first inspection of the phone. it is still up to the user whether it has value but nonetheless it is a much more important and noticeable feature than 4K. Your last point doesn't make sense either. As the phones such as the OnePlus 8 Pro and galaxy s20+ have the exact same hardware as the Xperia 1. I don't see whats so special about the Xperia 1 ii's hardware that would make it last longer than a long supported phone like the OP 8 or iPhone 11 pro max.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 29 May 2020There is more to 4k than just sharpness (which, not always,... moreAnd 120hz is not available at 1440p. So you are comparing 1080 at 120hz to 4k at 90hz (or 60hz if you don't believe Sony) either way for high quality content the difference in resolution will be a lot more apparent than the slower refresh rate.
Even looking at photos you will see 8 megapixels compared to 6 megapixels on a 1440p screen. That is 25% more, which is a lot.

  • Anonymous

Ultimate Reviewer, 28 May 2020The things is even the reasons you listed above are worthle... moreThere is more to 4k than just sharpness (which, not always, but in not cases can be perceived on a phone screen) there is also the improved colours it brings.
It always amuses me, when somebody says 4k can not be differentiated, but believe that 90hz to 120hz is a different world. And will make all of the difference.
And updates aren't much use if the hardware can't outlast it.

Anonymous, 28 May 2020Is the Sony Xperia 1 ii overpriced? I guess it will depend.... moreThe things is even the reasons you listed above are worthless. You won't notice the difference between 4k and 1440p on a phone screen. Also, the fact that Sony screen only refreshes at 60hz means they're many screens better that it such as the OP 8 Pro or the galaxy s20 ultra. If you plan on keeping your phone for 3 to 4 years then an Oneplus, Oixel, or iPhone would be a better choice as all these manufacturers update their phones for at least 3 years. The only reason someone would buy this thing is if they really need the manual photo and video mode.

  • Anonymous

Smithravi, 28 May 2020Actual picture taken by DPR, https://www.dpreview.com/s... moreThis kind of photo is always difficult for any camera. It probably needed the exposure compensation changed manually to get a better preprocess result. But honestly as long as the information is there I will quite happily process is to my liking afterwords. And apparently it will also get raw support in the camera pro app at a later date.

Actual picture taken by DPR,

https://www.dpreview.com/sample-galleries/6214989909/sony-xperia-1-mark-ii-sample-gallery/7610586633

Vs Post processed in Lightroom by Reddit user
https://i.imgur.com/qsUlxbV.jpg

This was his opinion:
"My opinion has changed after messing around with one of the photos in Lightroom. Based on what other users are saying, HDR was likely off for this shot since apparently you have to enable it in manual mode (which is ridiculous, but that's a different topic). The first photo I linked was heavily backlit and it only exposed a small portion of the scene correctly. It blew out almost everything in direct sunlight (https://i.imgur.com/6Ur8jGL.jpg), getting that information back was not possible. It still underexposed the vast majority of the tunnel as well, and the overall image quality is not great.

However, I was able to recover a significant amount of information from the shadows. I'm actually shocked at how much is still there given that it's a jpeg file from a smartphone. Very little of the underexposed area is actually pure black. It's not just the luminance data either, it actually managed to keep a good deal of color information, even towards the corners of the frame (check out the graffiti on the top right). According to the EXIF data, this was a shot with a 1/200s exposure and an ISO of 64, which is just nuts for a smartphone. I took a test shot on my Pixel at 1/200s and ISO 100 in my living room, which is on the shaded side of my house but still receiving a good amount of light from a clear blue sky, and I was not able to recover anywhere close to the amount of information I was able to get from the Xperia 1ii.

I am really, really impressed by the sensor in this thing, at least based on this one photo. That being said, Sony's processing still needs work, because most users aren't going to bother to edit their photos after the fact like this, so the "point and shoot" shots don't look like anything special. With the amount of light this sensor is capturing, I think they could probably raise the shutter speed a bit to combat the blown out highlights and still manage to have enough information in the shadows to deliver a quality photo, and I hope they update it in the future."

Just dont expect anything from this rev here.

Speakers will be tested without Dolby enhancement on, only wireless and maybe usb headphone quality will be tested, screen will be tested in standard not creator mode, battery will maybe, just maybe, be tested in both 60 and 90 hz modes, but most probably only 90hz, camera will be tested in auto mode with just one or two HDR shots of, as usual, buildings/objects only, and without any specific AF testing...
And of course, as usual, overall score will certainly be lower than that SG bunch....

Rather go see what people like J Bagnell have to say about it in his tech deep dive reviews.