Sony Xperia 1 V
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 1 V

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

justasmile, 17 Oct 2023Yup, I know one thing sony does, but other brands don'... moreThen talk to my Xperia Z5, XZ, and XZ Premium that I've been using for 4-5 years right now and have gone out of support for 4–6 years now (6–8 years from their respective launches), and they are still doing just fine. They just need some battery replacements (I already did that for the Z5 and XZ Premium).

    Anonymous, 12 Oct 2023My friend, the question is not why everybody hates it but w... more"Narrow display"

    I currently use both my Xperia 1 II and Xperia XZ Premium as my daily drivers (1 II is my primary, XZP is my secondary). Although I still love my XZ Premium very much and 16:9 is still great, since I used the Xperia 1 and 1 II with their 21:9 aspect ratio, where it's tall but narrow in design and display, I felt the XZ Premium was too wide, so my usage for my XZP wasn't as frequent as it used to be. Especially when Xperia XZP and 1 II wide is 7mm differences, which's noticeable (78mm vs. 71mm). And using multitasking, watching videos, sometimes films, and everything at a 21:9 ratio, I prefer that a lot on my Xperia 1 series to my 16:9 XZP. Different people have different opinions; yes, I am aware of that, but this is my experience that the narrower, sometimes the better.

    "Little service and software updates"

    Fine, I won't deny these and want this to be better and longer than 2/3 years of updates, but even then, I already accepted that I want the Xperia because I want to stand out in the public. The proper 3.5mm jack, proper camera shutter button, modernized Xperia Z design, toolless SIM tray, 3-4 separate apps for content creation, and microSDXC card slot are crucial to me, as those components already made me sell to Sony easily.

    "concerning the headphone jack, you can buy earbuds with usb connector instead if insist on wired audio. "

    The purpose of the 3.5mm combo jack isn't just connecting your wired earbuds; it's also for connecting an external microphone when shooting or recording. See this site's Xperia Pro-I written and video review or Joshua Vergara Xperia 1 V review. I owned both the Xperia 1 and the 1 II, and I prefer the dedicated jack of the 1 II to using the dongle/adaptor jack for my OG Xperia 1. It annoys me a lot, as sometimes I need both USB-C and a jack to connect at the same time but I won't deny that my OG Xperia 1 is still usable.

    "SD card... well, nowadays internal storage is high enough for everybody, nobody will insert and exsert sd cards from his phone."

    I used a (micro)SD card as it's essential in every situation, especially dire situations that can't rely on internal storage or cloud storage. You know, my Xperia 1 was running out of internal storage, and I traveled a lot in German cities back then, where I took a lot of video and photos. If it wasn't for MicroSDXC card support, my Xperia 1 would have a boot loop and cost me a lot to fix. And not to mention, Sony Xperia's supervisor brand, Sony Alpha, still uses SD cards to store photos and videos, so most of the Sony Alpha technologies that the Alpha engineers are able to implement in Xperia will be trickled down and implemented all at once. Sure, my Xperia 1 II Dual has 8/256 instead of my old Xperia 1 6/64, but even then, I still use the MicroSD in case of emergency as IDK if something wrong happen to my 1 II.

      Alpha, 17 Oct 2023Because Sony has things other phones don't have, and p... moreYup, I know one thing sony does, but other brands don't have: terrible pricing for 3 years of use only.

        • A
        • Alpha
        • 80i
        • 17 Oct 2023

        justasmile, 12 Oct 2023I'm seeing a lot of complaints about this phone. Why n... moreBecause Sony has things other phones don't have, and people act like only Sony has problems and every other phone company makes perfect phones..

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • AAr
          • 15 Oct 2023

          This phone has all u need, but the price is steep. However it's worth when u consider like all phones in flagship category are silly and similarly priced. Besides a Sony is is Sony meaning that design is always different from the large amount of China slabs.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • 7JE
            • 13 Oct 2023

            Anonymous, 12 Oct 2023My friend, the question is not why everybody hates it but w... moreThe SD card, headphone jack, and natural unprocessed camera quality. You could use a dongle to get wired headphones, but try that at the gym with some movement, it disconnects instantly and does not compare to a 3.5 headphone jack no matter what. That power port was not build to take the rigors of headphone jack use and will break easily when used with a dongle, speaking from experience. I love using my DJ cans at the gym, never fall off, best noise suppression around the ear design, comfortable, real bass, loud, high sound quality. However, moving away from Sony to find another android that has these features, without a network for parts Sony is just screwing its customers. Fool me once.

              • A
              • Anonym
              • n${
              • 13 Oct 2023

              Anonymous, 12 Oct 2023My friend, the question is not why everybody hates it but w... moreJack3.5 can be used for external microphone. SD card will be used by Pro photographers that send 4K video + RAW photos wireless via IEM app from Alpha camera to smartphone.
              1V has at this moment the best HDR video on the market (HDR >2200cd/m2) and it has 4K120fps with HDR (2200nit). Have nice day
              XD

                Anonymous, 12 Oct 2023Sony does not have a repair center or even a distribution n... moreYou've probably written this 10 times already. Do they pay you on a piece-rate basis? Whats the rate?

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • gDf
                  • 12 Oct 2023

                  TheSnowWinterR7, 12 Oct 2023People love nitpicking the phone that stands out the most f... moreMy friend, the question is not why everybody hates it but why nobody likes it. That is because there are no positive things. Narrow display, little service and software updates from Sony etc. And concerning the headphone jack, you can buy earbids with usb connector instead if insist on wired audio. And the SD card... well, nowadays internal storage is high enough for everybody, nobody will insert and exsert sd cards from his phone. And for data transfer just use a cable.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • 7JE
                    • 12 Oct 2023

                    Sony does not have a repair center or even a distribution network for parts in the US. So if your phone needs parts, like my $1,800 Pro I, then you are out of luck. I've been trying to fix it for 5 months now. Assurion can't even fix it, they said ebay is the only place to get parts for it and they are not allowed to shop there. The one phone number Sony has for third party to fix your phone, no one answers. Sometimes you can wait on the line for an hour and then it just hangs up. It's basically a fake company. Owning this phone has been the biggest waste of money. I've never seen this little support from a global company before.

                      justasmile, 12 Oct 2023I'm seeing a lot of complaints about this phone. Why n... morePeople love nitpicking the phone that stands out the most from one of the most-known brands, and Sony is one of them, so they decided to hate it the most. They hate it so much that they will scapegoat Sony when their lives don't go their way as an act to express their daily-life frustration.

                        I'm seeing a lot of complaints about this phone. Why not get other phones? Why does it have to be this specific phone? Because of the headphone jack?

                          Anonymous, 11 Oct 2023Awful build quality. Those stereo speakers at the top and b... more16:9 aspect ratio is in VideoPro app (and it has the same features like CinemaPro - only MF passing is missing - but you never use that...). You've only seen this phone in photos on the Internet. My last phone is 4 years old and has the same speaker hole
                          :D

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • gDf
                            • 11 Oct 2023

                            Awful build quality. Those stereo speakers at the top and bottom of the display have so large gaps that they get filled with dirt in a second. Then there are some wanna-be professional apps like cinema pro. I still couldn't manage to change the aspect ratio from 21:9 to 16:9 in the aforementioned app. Then there is that 21:9 aspect ratio of the display itself, which is more a problem rather than a helpful design. Watching regular 16:9 videos on youtube is like watching them on iPhone SE and everything in general is too small fue to the narrow display caused by 21:9 aspect ratio. Image quality is great on the other hand because outdated Sony finally switched to a larger state-of-the-art 1/1.35" 48MP main sensor and stopped using that miniature 1/1.7" 12MP sensor they have been using for years now. Still this doesn't make the phone any better, the aspect ratio of the display and the unnecessarily complex photo apps that no smartphone user will ever use (as if any professional photographer would ever use a smartphone instead of his dslr are whatsoever), in addition to the already bad service from Sony make this phone "dead on arrival".

                            This phone reminds me of the DeLorean DMC-12, which was supposed to become a groundbreaking supercar ended up as a total failure.

                              • A
                              • Anonym
                              • 6k%
                              • 11 Oct 2023

                              The competition is commenting aggressively because they know that a next generation video camera has arrived and is already on the market :D

                                • G
                                • G
                                • nw}
                                • 11 Oct 2023

                                Muay , 06 Oct 2023Try make picture over whatapp it's total garbage camer... moreTrue

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • 7JE
                                  • 11 Oct 2023

                                  Sony does not have a repair center or even a distribution network for parts in the US. So if your phone needs parts, like my $1,800 Pro I, then you are out of luck. I've been trying to fix it for 5 months now. Assurion can't even fix it, they said ebay is the only place to get parts for it and they are not allowed to shop there. The one phone number Sony has for third party to fix your phone, no one answers. Sometimes you can wait on the line for an hour and then it just hangs up. It's basically a fake company. Owning this phone has been the biggest waste of money. I've never seen this little support from a global company before.

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • 7JE
                                    • 10 Oct 2023

                                    Sony does not have a repair center or even a distribution network for parts in the US. So if your phone needs parts, like my $1,800 Pro I, then you are out of luck. I've been trying to fix it for 5 months now. Assurion can't even fix it, they said ebay is the only place to get parts for it and they are not allowed to shop there. The one phone number Sony has for third party to fix your phone, no one answers. Sometimes you can wait on the line for an hour and then it just hangs up. It's basically a fake company. Owning this phone has been the biggest waste of money. I've never seen this little support from a global company before.

                                      • L
                                      • LucasN82
                                      • n${
                                      • 10 Oct 2023

                                      Anonymous, 10 Oct 2023Not trying to prove anything to sony diehard fans. Just inf... moreFind in dictionary diference between "information" and "lie"
                                      :)

                                        • A
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • pdw
                                        • 10 Oct 2023

                                        LucasN82, 09 Oct 2023No one believe you and your fake facts. "Under the sun... moreNot trying to prove anything to sony diehard fans. Just informing normal people. No one talked with you and nothing was meant for you so keep silent :)