Sony Xperia 5 III
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 5 III

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

SeaBee, 30 May 2021This is the smallest Sony is offering now? I just want a n... moreNew standards (slimmer version of full-size smartphones)

21:9 is here to stay. More productive for everything, best for multitasking split screens. (Professional controls for camera and video...)

My only complaint about sony (1) TOO LONG for average pockets, must use cargo pockets. also (2) not enough cases; want OtterBox defender case or similar with clips. Slim cases are only good for pockets. Want to place on belt. (3) high prices, but well worth quality. Cheaper when pre-order. Resell extra items to compensate for the difference. With 5ii it was headphones and battery-pack.

twar, 10 Jun 2021Hi. I've got a question to owners of previous xperia ... moreForgot to comment on notification panel.
Side sense is very nifty for common bt, wifi, 4g activation without streching your thumb. And pull down to see gesture is available from any free screen area in front of you, you dont need reaching top of screen for it.

Takes a few days of get using to, but ends up absolutely user intuitive in the end.

twar, 10 Jun 2021Hi. I've got a question to owners of previous xperia ... moreYah...Im loving the 21:9 aspect of my 5II.
Yea, youtube...most content is 16:9 and you have black side bars, but those are just slightly bigger than black bars also present on any other phone today. But when you hit on full screen 21:9 YT content (almost any new movie trailer or sth), you start to really appreciate that screen aspect.

Also anything else, be it camera apps, UI, multitask, streamin movies/series like Netflix, games, or social scrolling apps... You just wont want to go back to any other aspect...

So, I suppose only con are those 16:9 YT content videos which dont go full screen, can only be zoomed in. But same goes for any other phone today, doesnt it? as them are all 19:9, 20:9, or do a 18:9 crop to cover for puncholes etc...

Dont fear 21:9. Much more pros than that single con to it. You wont think about it more than 5 days after using it. And you ll love it in the end.

Please release the phone globally

Xperia.Veteran, 10 Jun 2021Yeah I’ve seen the ASUS 8 that looks interesting but it do... moreIMO iphone 12 mini is a excellent choice I would go for it myself but perspective of not being able to change icons etc is somewhat discouraging ;)

twar, 10 Jun 2021Hi. I've got a question to owners of previous xperia ... moredepends what you expect and how / what for you use it. personally, at the very beginning i found it a little weird as being too narrow (i came from a really wide phone...) but in a very short matter of time i got so used with it that now i find quite annoying when i put my hands on a "classic" format. for camera pro use is really nice as you have a bunch of controls there and, yet, no hindering of the preview image. when using as phone the sensation is quite as an old school regular phone :)

  • gogu

Anonymous, 10 Jun 2021can sony release the phone already what are they waiting fo... morethey are waiting for mark 4 :))

Hi.
I've got a question to owners of previous xperia 5 which was called 5 mark II, I belive. :)
How practical is this screen ration (21x9) in everyday life, because today I've visited a store and it feels and looks a little bit weird, on youtube almost half of the screen is black, reaching notification panel is impossible with one hand etc.
I am asking because soon I will buy iphone 12 mini or xperia 5 mark 3 or asus zenfone 8.

  • Xperia.Veteran

twar, 09 Jun 2021Well, at the moment the only "compact" phone with... moreYeah I’ve seen the ASUS 8 that looks interesting but it doesn’t seem to be available through any of the network providers in the UK which is generally how I buy phones. Also battery life looks a bit questionable.

TBH I’m most likely going to go for the iPhone 12 mini as that hits all my must haves, it’s frustrating as I cant stand the restrictive apple experience through iTunes etc but if they are the only main manufacturer who are going to provide a truly small option then it’s a no brainer.

  • Anonymous

can sony release the phone already what are they waiting for >:(

  • twar

Xperia.Veteran, 08 Jun 2021They are calling this compact but it is still too long! So ... moreWell, at the moment the only "compact" phone with android is asus zenfone 8 which is only slightly lower that this xperia 5m3.

  • Anonymous

Xperia.Veteran, 08 Jun 2021They are calling this compact but it is still too long! So ... moreWhat about the asus zenfone 8

if this phone had the same frosted glass like xperia 1 iii it will be awesome!!!

  • Xperia.Veteran

They are calling this compact but it is still too long! So frustrating that the only decent sub 6 inch modern phone are Apples currently.

I love my XZ1 because it is genuinely compact and works so well even after 3 years. I tried the Sony Xperia 5 ii and it felt like holding a lightsaber, this 'compact' phone is exactly the same length. Hugely disappointing.

Like other posters I'm not sure of the benefits of such a wide screen, makes it unwieldy to use in one hand, and I don't have small hands.

I wish any android manufacturer would wake up and make a solid performance small (truly small) phone. Compromise on the cameras, screen res/def and chip. Have a great battery, 3.5mm jack, waterproof and surely there would be a great market for it?

  • Bruh

banana, 02 Jun 2021Why is it people want companies like Sony and LG out of the... moreI have an LG. Other brands are too mainstream- what I like about lg's and sony's is that they feel very refined and quality and are unique. There is something about them that makes them amazing.

  • banana

Why is it people want companies like Sony and LG out of the market, You realise you just want samsung or iphones or some cheap chinese brand, Almost like you only want 2 brands to exist and companies just copying phones entirely off each other.

  • banana

uiflorin, 20 May 2021As I'm in a shopping process for an affordable flagshi... moreI dont understand most of your complaints? Most movies are in 21:9 though? Do you mean tv?
Then you say youre thinking about what a phone costs for 2 years but then say 70% battery capacity to make what point? that batteries degrade over time, are you talking about the resale value or buying the phone in 2 years.
Then something about flash memory storage and sd cards which xperias do have?

  • Ordinary Man

Calm down... why do the comments filled with so much 'gunfire'? Be rational, do not fall into any marketing traps, these devices are designed to serves us, we should be the masters over these... So dont be so fanatic, the Mega Corp manufacturers behind these produce will not reward you even their sales is going to hit sky high. Its just all commercial, all about the profit.

  • Alpha

SeaBee, 30 May 2021This is the smallest Sony is offering now? I just want a n... moreLook for the Xperia Ace, its not listed on GSMArena but its a pretty good phone! Its Japan Exclusive so you'll need to check Ebay

  • waen

SeaBee, 30 May 2021This is the smallest Sony is offering now? I just want a n... morethis one will be slightly smaller https://www.gsmarena.com/sony_xperia_10_iii-10698.php