Sony Xperia 5 V
MORE PICTURES

Sony Xperia 5 V

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • S
  • Saiful
  • XVQ
  • 02 Sep 2023

What a none sense,,,why excluded the zoom lense

    • P
    • P C M
    • XVJ
    • 02 Sep 2023

    Anton., 02 Sep 2023I remember when LG did these things, especially in one of i... moreI think they will be okay. It's just a different strategy. Their goal is unlike others. They are just happy with having double the profit other major brands are making.

      • D
      • Dunte
      • xjH
      • 02 Sep 2023

      Why can't Sony manufacture midrange smartphone for the middle class?

        I am not impressed but hear me out.
        The bezels??? It's a broken record now. I'd take these bezels over any notch or ugly camera cut any time of the day. plus you get front-facing speakers.
        The telephoto? I won't miss it. Any tele is lacking in terms of image quality. I don't use them on my 5III and my Honor M5P.
        As for the 128GB storage, they gave you the option to use an extra terabyte of SD memory. Don't moan!

        Still, I am not that impressed. I think the price should start at 899$ and 849£. I am not impressed as well by the thermal management. I believe the 1V is a much better buy now that its price has come down a bit. Imported from Asian markets, you could get it for 791£ in the UK.

          [deleted post]Same here on my 5III. Overheating like crazy and now I sent it to the service centre as the FP stopped working. I already bought the Honor Magic 5 Pro. A much better phone than the Xperia 1/5 V IMO

            I Just Read, 02 Sep 2023I just like to comment once on each article none of this mu... moreSamsung offers 5 OS versions (1 installed + 4 major version updates), and 5 years of security patches for its latest offerings, it is a key factor hard to be ignored as $ony is commanding a higher price compare to Samsung' equivalent (5V to S23, 1V to S23 Ultra) while offering less on the table (only dual cam setup instead of triple cam of S23), $ony really need to convince people they indeed get what they paid (extra) for, or their market share will continue to shrink.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • pWB
              • 02 Sep 2023

              Nope. not for me. Sony Xperia III is enough for me still for years. And it is better than this for my usage.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • nU2
                • 02 Sep 2023

                Anonymous, 02 Sep 2023That's good, but is there any drawing in importing one... more*drawback

                  jommo, 01 Sep 2023I don't mind the 8GB RAM, that's plenty for most ... moreI just like to comment once on each article none of this multiple posts.

                  I address your all questions yours and others here.
                  On price the 5 V and 5 IV Launched exactly the same £849 & €999
                  (You can bet the CEO at Sony will be getting a sever le reprimand from Tim Cooke)
                  There is a 256 GB option
                  https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=12534&idPhone2=11838

                  IMO it wouldn't any sense to me to sell a higher memory option in selected areas. Just my opinion

                  Sony Xperia support memory cards upto ITb (as do the higher Samsung A series)
                  The A52S was the last A phone to use 3.5mm jack,

                  I personally don't know why say 128Gb is low and a deal breaker

                  In addition to microSd support you have USB OTG so whatever stick size you have bought can be attached look I am NOT saying walking around attached.

                  Albeit they are not as fast as UFS why would you need to have immediate access to 256Gb immediatly

                  Wireless charging is MORE wasteful in power used than wired.
                  There are both benefits and disadvantages to having an Esim, you have considered it a plus (as I haven't used one yet aware, if and when it affects me well.

                  Sony have promised THREE ANDROID UPDSTES, installed and two other.
                  2025 Android 15, security patches up to 31/12/2025

                  I feel that some Android update do have benefits they are incorporated apps
                  On security patches, Google is looking for flaws introduced, or in some cases missed. It does pay third parties to look for vulnerabilities.

                  Those of you who state 3 years or five years is too little remember ownership of theyour Android Handset gives us power
                  If say a virus popped up, let's give this virus a name Universe ICE, and infected your phone
                  Dies anyone believe that Google or tour handset maker is just going to sit by and do nothing and then only seed the solution to those still eligible to receive security updates,

                  The answer is no, not whilst Apple is selling expensively exorbitant iPhones.

                  Your installed Antivirus will be looking for a solution also

                  Overheating issues noticed in 5 IV have all been been eradicated


                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • nU2
                    • 02 Sep 2023

                    TheSnowWinterR7, 01 Sep 2023You can have the 256 GB variant if you imported it from the... moreThat's good, but is there any drawing in importing one? Such as network etc? Or are they identical except storage??

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • nU2
                      • 02 Sep 2023

                      Sage, 01 Sep 2023Where is the notification LED ?The missing feature that nobody is talking about

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • nU2
                        • 02 Sep 2023

                        djamesz, 01 Sep 2023No 3.5mm jack and no micro SD... makes it automatically an ... moreWell said, due to lack of 3.5mm jack I'm unable to buy otherwise ok phones. It's a shame they remove such important feature. Lack of microSD can be somewhat tolerated if 256gb exist, but definitely annoying. However, lack of 3.5mm jack is intolerable.

                          P C M, 01 Sep 2023That telephoto should save them at least 10% of total cost.... moreI remember when LG did these things, especially in one of its best markets, Latin America, and look where LG is now, at the bottom of the dump... there goes Sony

                            • P
                            • P C M
                            • XVJ
                            • 01 Sep 2023

                            Anton., 01 Sep 2023sony being sony lolThat telephoto should save them at least 10% of total cost.
                            Still charging 1000bucks for dual camera and 1 year old SoC.
                            Even Apple are more reasonable.

                              • P
                              • P C M
                              • XVJ
                              • 01 Sep 2023

                              kek, 01 Sep 2023Why are you crying over some dark small telephoto lenses? ... moreI would rather take no photo of any human subject with these crappy wide main lenses. The subject looks unreal and weirdly angled.
                              Telephoto is like my primary camera.

                                OS updates?? Security updates? Any news on how long it will supported?

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • N1K
                                  • 01 Sep 2023

                                  As I watching this phone's review I thought to myself, man what a great all-around package ! Untill I heard the price... A 1000 bucks is just too much for this phone. It should have been at least priced similarly to nothing phone 2 so it can compete with it. I'm afraid it will just be another overpriced yet underrated phone made by sony.

                                    True about ExmorT sensor, 4K 120fps(!) low light:
                                    https://youtu.be/D8S9jaOls_g?si=kIIfEP1e7pMGeKk6
                                    Do not listen haters and managers. It is real nex-generation sensor sensitivity.
                                    PRO-I m2 with 1inch sensor with that tech will be very close to 4/3 ~ APS-C.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • m51
                                      • 01 Sep 2023

                                      Sony charging over €1000 for a phone with fewer cameras than the Xperia 10V and worse throttling than any other phone with the same chip 😂😂

                                        Anton., 01 Sep 2023Ugly and tacky stuff, boring, outdated design and those edg... moreWhere Sony gonna put their signature front-firing stereo speakers if they gonna all-screen solution? It was already bad enough they didn't put front-firing stereo speakers on the Xperia Mark 1 series flagship back then. If this implied Sony should pull another XZ2/XZ3 footstep and follow mainstream market blindly, then no.