LG G5
MORE PICTURES

LG G5

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • hicham nabooo

GeneTan2, 26 Jun 2019Very BAD Battery Life, 2 Hours Of Gaming. best phone ever it works fastly ..ilove it day after day

  • jazz

Phone is nice but now the back power button is not working and also the volume button is not decrease the volume. Is it caused due to dust inside or battery issue? any idea?

  • Ravaka

Anonymous, 11 Dec 2015please put 4000 mah battery lg.I was hoping for that too

  • Joseph Stalin

Had it for 3+ years, happy with performance and picture quality. However 2800mAh is not enough and the build quality is very poor. But that's due to design things like removable battery, bottom piece. Also had problems with GPS signal and audio jack.

  • Asad

This is really a solid device... I had very bad experience with its stock UI but after installing lineage OS 9.0 its working blazingly fast.

  • Anonymous

Kingslayer, 11 Aug 2019LG G5 will go as one of the most underrated retro smartphon... moreWhat's the make of the 3200mah battery

LG G5 reclaimed its throne as the best smartphone I ever had. Definitely my favorite again.

Nomore overheating thanks to updating to Nougat 7.0 and latest security patch (December 2017). The image retention is pretty much gone with the blue light filter app and just using a plain black wallpaper and black theme. The battery lasts longer with the red 3200 mAh battery and it fast charges again. I need to charge it to 100% as the first 1% drain can last over 20 minutes.

It's main weakness is GPS as I tested it doing DoorDash and it can get wonky but it is still usable. The software update actually fixed my Wi-Fi issues and it's the only smartphone that can consistently connect to my router at home. An underrated aspect to the G5 is it is very easy to repair. Something I can't say with many current flagships.

I plan to keep this phone and use it as multimedia player for years and years. I'll just keep buying newer dated third-party batteries to keep it going...

Favorites
1. LG G5
2. Google Pixel 3
3. Essential Phone

Wanting to buy another Essential Phone after my first one broke two months ago. But unlike the G5, it's going to be far more difficult to replace the battery and find parts for it. The LG G5 and V20 were the last flagships to offer removable battery and easy to repair. It also uses IPS which lasts longer than AMOLED.

Once the Essential Phone battery is dead, it becomes a paperweight. At least with Google Pixels, I can always go to uBreakitiFixit, their official repair shops. The modular design of the LG G5 offers far more longevity in case the display breaks or it needs another battery to keep it working for several more years. Unicorn device.

  • Anonymous

Kingslayer, 11 Aug 2019LG G5 will go as one of the most underrated retro smartphon... moreYour right ,g G5 is really good, it's just that the OEM battery doesn't last long.

Jardon6, 03 Aug 2019Why the battery can't charge with charger when drained comp... moreCharger isn't original

LG G5 will go as one of the most underrated retro smartphones of all-time.

No bootloops. Can use it for as long as it still works. Will keep buying newer dated third-party batteries for it as that's better than older dated OEM batteries. The 3200 mAh battery tends to drain slowly if charged to 100% as I lose 1% after 20+ minutes. So I charge it up to 100% until it reaches 40%.

This is one of the best of all-time for me and better than the Samsung Galaxy S3, S4, S5, Note 1-4, or any Samsung that offered removable batteries. Only the LG V20 is slightly better than it but I had to sell mine because I couldn't stand the size.

  • Jardon6

Why the battery can't charge with charger when drained completely

  • Faheemnp

sam, 28 Jul 2019what does SOT meanScreen On Time

  • sam

Kingslayer, 22 Jul 2019Went back to the red SHENMZ battery and I'm hoping it was j... morewhat does SOT mean

Went back to the red SHENMZ battery and I'm hoping it was just a fluke it shut off randomly. Might have needed to be completely drained once a month. I tested using AccuBattery and it definitely lasts longer than the yellow OEM batteries.

With the OEM battery which I barely ever used, one hour SOT can kill over 20%. I went from 80% to 54% within 75 minutes SOT. On the Chinese battery, it kills like 13% or half the rate. And the OEM batteries die very, very quickly under 30% while the Chinese one lasts at least double or even triple the SOT.

The OEM batteries are pretty awful. Avoid using them if you want better stamina. The Chinese battery also handles fast charging consistently while the OEM batteries will charge very slow over time. My only concern with third-party Chinese batteries is they can randomly die out after reading the Amazon reviews.

Update on the 3200 mAh red battery that says SHENMZ. The battery indicator had it at about 70% (although the % is off) but it completely died on me when idle for no apparent reason. So I went back to one of the three yellow OEM batteries I still have. So far, the overheating still hasn't returned. I guess updating to the latest software/security patch and updating the LG apps really did work.

The Chinese red battery could be total rubbish. As long as the overheating won't return, I can live using the old yellow OEM batteries manufactured from three years ago. Only issues is they die quickly once below 30% but I own three of them plus that Chinese battery and I get a notification sound when it reaches 40%, so I don't mind. Long live the LG G5!

  • goodness4411

Kingslayer, 24 Jun 2019As a daily driver smartphone: 7/10 As a jack-of-all-trades... moreNoted to mention... Widely support for screen sharing through usb c to eveything (hdmi/vga/etc)

  • NeedsBattery

Kingslayer, 27 Jun 2019Update on my overheating LG G5... Got the 3200 mAh battery ... moreYou got a GOOD high capacity Chinese battery? What brand?!

It's been three days since I updated everything to the latest software version. Nomore overheating. Crazy to think I was ready to sell this device like four days ago and now it became one of my most reliable smartphones. My Pixel 3, Moto E4, and MacBook Air can not connect to my router but my Mi 3 and G5 can.

The battery life on my G5 also lasts a little longer but I decided to turn off the battery % again to avoid staring at it. I keep it between 40-80% as I usually will use it at home. I have a battery notifier app when it reaches those %. Typing on it right now. It's almost working like I first got it. Very smooth and runs fairly cool. Again, one of my favorite phones of all-time.

Update on my overheating LG G5... Got the 3200 mAh battery three days ago. First time, it worked fine. Lasted longer. Then I did a full discharge and the overheating returned. Thought it was another third-party Chinese POS battery that I wasted another $20 on fron Amazon.

Was ready to finally give up on my LG G5 and just sell it on Craigslist for $80. Then yesterday morning, my Google Pixel 3 stopped connecting to my Wi-Fi connection for no reason. I did everything including deleting everything on it and turning off my router. It still won't connect.

Guess which phone was my unsung hero yesterday? My Xiaomi Mi 3! It connects to my router and runs beautifully after nearly 5 years. It's the longest and most reliable smartphone I ever had. Snapdragon 800 was an efficient, cool running SoC.

Going back to my G5, what I did was just update my firmware, security patch, and whatever LG apps I could. Guess what? It actually worked! No more overheat. I didn't have to restore it to new either. And I love having the split-screen feature again which was never found in MM.

On Marshmallow, it took 4 minutes to kill 1%. If it was overheating, 2 minutes. Now it last about 6-7 minutes until it kills 1%. That's 10+ hrs SOT for video playback. I used to hate updating my firmware as it used to ruin ny battery life. The irony that updating the firmware and the latest security patches actually saved my LG G5 from being sold.

So for anybody having issues, just update your firmware and get the latest security patch. My RS988 only got up to December 2017. Update most of your apps as well as some might act like a rogue app incompatible with the latest firmware/API. I actually had Nougat on my previous Sprint G5 before but didn't like the RAM usage.

Nougat saved my G5. That's why I haven't installed all my apps and media files back on my Pixel 3 yet. Quiche will be released in August and I want to be ready to do a restore to new once it arrives. Updating to the latest firmware and security fixes really does benefit and I was sold before to never update beyond Pie.

I could still be talking a little too early because problems can always arise again with LG. But now I found some joy and benefits updating to the latest. I just hope with my Pixel 3, the next firmware update can fix my Wi-Fi issues that my other phones could easily do. Even my G5's Wi-Fi issues went away with the latest update.

My only complaint on my G5 is I wished it got Oreo. Some carrier variants got it but my unlocked version never did. I despise the yellow blob emojis. Oreo made them look normal again. It's a minor nitpick compared to the hell it gave me with the overheating, 2 hr or less SOT, and Wi-Fi issues. As long as the battery doesn't get warm, the stamina on mine goes from average to fairly excellent.

Been using this phone for more than 30 minutes with screen on and only killed 5%. Before, I could kill 5% in less than 10 minutes. Android 7 saved the day.

Very BAD Battery Life, 2 Hours Of Gaming.