Sony Xperia XZ1 review: XZibit one

11 September 2017
Sony was never a company to blindly follow trends, having its own approach to the mobile market. A fact perfectly illustrated by the company's latest flagship duo - the XZ1 and XZ1 Compact, which you only need to look at once to recognize the Xperia pedigree. The 2017 Sony flagships proper combine the best elements across the lineup to try and cut themselves a solid piece of the holiday sales pie.

Sort by:

Anonymous, 12 Sep 2017hahaha, apple and sony IPS screens are manufactured by LG a... more1 - Apple uses displays from LG, not Sony. Their panels come from JDI, which is light years ahead of LG's, which is why you don't see reports of Xperia screens burning in, and the XZ1's great display just says it all.
2 - I don't care but since we're here already, I just want to say that that thing stinks. OLEDs are supposed to give a reading of 0 for blacks, not 0.003.
3 - Apple will use Samsung OLED, because they know themselves that the ones from LG are shit, and Sony will use OLED from JDI, which, again, is light years ahead.
Maybe some Chinese OEMs will make a cheap low end phone and use LG's low cost quality screens there with major burn ins.
4 - Hahahahaha. Now I am laughing - laughing at how little do you know about screens lol.

    • D
    • AnonD-660652
    • gKh
    • 12 Sep 2017

    I wanted to buy Sony's smartphones for years. But they just suck in image quality of their cameras. In fact, they can hardly deliver LL performance of a 2015 year flagship phone. Even apple improves their camera. Sony does all the things beside ones they should do above all. Bring OIS, use stucking image approach to deliver better LL performance. Put hq loudspeakers. What's wrong with you, Sony?

      • L
      • Lex79
      • nw}
      • 12 Sep 2017

      DenisXD, 12 Sep 2017Oh the battery life of that thing! If xz1 hits 80h, imagi... moreThose are better battery performance figures than I was expecting, and the compact should be great I agree.

      Imaging if they had stuck a 3000mAh cell in this though, likely would have been class leading......wasted opportunity Sony, and for what?

        Tann Hauser, 12 Sep 2017Bugs are yet to be reported, Oreo with if and any bugs is s... moreClearly some smartphones with single camera can beat dual camera smartphone. Sony's 19MP Motion Eye camera sensor that have already been inside Sony high-end flagships for quite a while now, and in my opinion it is slightly better than OnePlus 5 in low-light

          • r
          • robogo
          • SXh
          • 12 Sep 2017

          xXENDER FREAKXx, 12 Sep 2017Those complaining about the small battery before the review... moreIt appears that Sony is still the one to beat when it comes to software optimization. Remarkable achievement from the developers.

            • T
            • TheOtherGuy
            • Aw}
            • 12 Sep 2017

            Not following the trend of bezel-less phones is all well and good but Sony appear to be going in the opposite direction and are actually increasing their bezels. Z3, Z3+, Z5 & XZ all had 5.2" screens and their widths were all 72-72.6mm. This XZ1 is 73. 4mm. Height is the same, all of the previously mentioned phones were 146-146.8mm, this XZ1 is 148mm! And that's just their phones. Look at all the other 5.2" devices without the bezel-less tag and you'll see they're pretty much all (apart from Moto lately) below 73mm. The width makes a big difference when using a phone daily.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • tDQ
              • 12 Sep 2017

              Anonymous, 12 Sep 2017hahaha, apple and sony IPS screens are manufactured by LG a... moreSony ips lcd display is come from JDI not lg

                • D
                • AnonD-175235
                • GBj
                • 12 Sep 2017

                Anonymous, 12 Sep 2017hahaha, apple and sony IPS screens are manufactured by LG a... moreApple buys the lcd from lg but not sony my friend only because they bought the oled from lg on their tv doesnt mean they do on their smartphones and to be honest if sony used their oled people like us couldn’t afford it know your facts before you say something

                  • s
                  • savage
                  • KZK
                  • 12 Sep 2017

                  Anonymous, 12 Sep 2017hahaha, apple and sony IPS screens are manufactured by LG a... moreSorry...apple use lg screen yeahh,but sony no,no need they have their own technology,their tech much more innovate and advance,so no one laughing now

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • gLT
                    • 12 Sep 2017

                    Sony should really get rid of the huge bezels at the top and bottom. Ditch the brand name on top, we know we are using a Sony smartphone, make the screen bigger, but keep the dimensions of the device. Also the camera lens belongs in the center, so we don't place our finger in front of it while taking landscape pictures.

                      Anonymous, 12 Sep 2017yeah unstable oreo with many new bugs. and 3d modelling is... moreBugs are yet to be reported, Oreo with if and any bugs is still more than your phone has isnt it.

                      Gimmicks are things that do not actually improve users experience or functionality in any way, 3D creator does add entirely new functionality of 3d rendering and printing...so no gimmick.
                      You just personally might not find it interesting,
                      as much as I dont for example 32 bit dacs in phones, as those do not improve sound quality at all, but just add extra bit of already unnecessary volume but seriously take a hit on power consumption, or dual cameras as those do not provide any more new features or functionality than single one does...

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • xCC
                        • 12 Sep 2017

                        Sony Fanboy Bitches, 12 Sep 2017I just wanna laugh at the V30's so-called "P-OLED" display ... morehahaha, apple and sony IPS screens are manufactured by LG and P-Oled is a unique technology from LG which they use on their world's renowned and most popular OLED TVs. Time will come that Sony and Apple will use OLED screens from LG. So who is laughing now.

                          • F
                          • Florin
                          • srr
                          • 12 Sep 2017

                          Hello,
                          Thanks for the review GSM Arena but if you could be so kind as to tell us if this phone has the same camera distortion that the Xperia XZPremium is reported to have. I confess, i have an XZP, a second brand new unit actually and it shows camera distortion. I was wondering if Sony has done something in that regard.
                          Thanks!

                            Those complaining about the small battery before the review come out, are u salty now for the battery life? :D

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • n41
                              • 12 Sep 2017

                              L0lip0p, 12 Sep 2017Sony unified design, it follows the applied themeunified ugly design

                                • D
                                • DesignerKa
                                • 3nB
                                • 12 Sep 2017

                                I'm still thinking about with HTC U11. XZ1's loudspeakers improved but still average performance. U11 has 6GB ram and 128gb. XZ1 and U11 has usb 3.1 but compact not (please confirm). Metal body is better than glass. I'm used HTC touch 2,HD2,onex,m7,m9 before, and sony z2. My dad has z3+ and have g-sensor / software slowdown issues. Now im on S7edge, its too much loaded. Only 3 hours of SoT after 1 year. Curved screen useless and feels sensetive.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • n41
                                  • 12 Sep 2017

                                  Tann Hauser, 12 Sep 2017Just great stuff. That batterylife from a 2700 maH is imp... moreyeah unstable oreo with many new bugs.
                                  and 3d modelling is a useless gimmick

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • KhD
                                    • 12 Sep 2017

                                    Drickz, 12 Sep 2017People said apple is lazy with their design but Sony bring ... moreWell, if they change their design and end up looking like other phones, people would say copying!!! Sometimes the same old design may be the best design...

                                      Just great stuff.
                                      That batterylife from a 2700 maH is impressive...
                                      Cant wait for Oreo on my X Perform. :-)
                                      Sound and Cameras and its feats superb as always too.

                                      I m really glad they re sticking with f2.0, noticed I cant quite catch the shadows in lowlight with wider aperture cameras it doesnt give enough exposure control on - levels, the shots are brighter, but just not as color punchy and impressive as these ones, and just no depth feel to them.
                                      I dont mind having to hold the camera somewhat more steady for brighter and more detailed pictures in manual with 1/4 or 1/2 shutter speeds, as long as I can lower exposure to catch the night.
                                      I guess they could go for some f1.8 max for better automode ISO and shutter control, so people wouldnt complain about loss of detail, but I m affraid it would take a serious hit on depth and minus exposure control even in manual.

                                      3d creator is great. :-)

                                        AnonD-566182, 12 Sep 2017compact review when?Oh the battery life of that thing!
                                        If xz1 hits 80h, imagine the compact!