Huawei P20 review

17 April 2018
A strange bird this Huawei P20 - a headliner without a spear. The omission of the triple camera is baffling, but as long as you give it a chance, you may be surprised. And if you don't dwell on what didn't make the cut, you should be able to see the P20 for what it is - one dazzling flagship.

Sort by:

  • JackTheIPhoneKiller

Kaloyan, 19 Apr 2018I wrote the Nokia 8 review and there is not a single line critic... moreSorry, my apologies. I really had to go back and read your review about Nokia 8 again only to find out that you are absolutely right about what u said.
And yes, other reviewers really were very harsh on Nokia 8 fingerprint scanner. But not you.
My apologies again.
Still, what do u think about Nokia 8 against Huawei P20? Isn't it a pretty good option considering its one of the last (perhaps the last) flagship level phone with old 16:9 screen and all those goodies? Plus you would be saving at least 150 USD too.

AnonD-753292, 19 Apr 2018Which one would you buy today? HTC U11+ or the Huawei P20 ( not... moreU can get Mate 10 pro for the same price as P20 now for much better design.

  • AnonD-753292

Which one would you buy today? HTC U11+ or the Huawei P20 ( not the Pro)?

  • ianne84

Can I know where I can find the Twilight version of the P20 in Europe?!? Online I can find the Black and the Blue version (the Pink Gold is in pre-order). Thank you!

JackTheIPhoneKiller, 19 Apr 2018One more review/article that goes on to show how unfair reviewer... moreI wrote the Nokia 8 review and there is not a single line criticizing the fingerprint scanner for its size. Same goes for the video review - nothing about the size. Obviously you are talking about other media, and we kind of don't care about that.

In our long-term review published a while back the reviewer talks about how you should be careful when setting it up because of the small size of the fingerprint scanner. But that's it. This is NOT a review, it's more of a personal observations after using the Nokia 8 for say six months.

  • JackTheIPhoneKiller

One more review/article that goes on to show how unfair reviewers were last and this year to Nokia 8. I mean look at the tiny winy bit fingerprint sensor on both P20 and P20 Pro and even Mate 10, no one seems to be bothered by that at all. No one ever mentions that as a con. Whereas in case of Nokia 8, every YouTube video, every review criticized its fingerprint sensor for being too small and almost unusable. Seriously guys!? Are u really telling me this P20 Fingerprint sensor is any better?
Oh and don't get me even started on the lack of IR blaster (why P20 Pro has it and P20 doesn't is beyond me) and that omission of 3.5 mm headphone jack.... Really?
And u guys still it is a better buy than Nokia 8 if we take their prices into consideration??
Please correct me if I am wrong in any argument

Hoffmann, 18 Apr 2018I don't know man. I'm a S7 Edge owner and I can't tell a differe... moreI understand you and just comparing them in GSMarena comparing tool. Sure there is a real life but I trust GMSarena and it's a good start to make a discussion or start thinking about differences for your self.

  • AnonD-460564

How Huawei managed 960 fps sensor

Dxomark Topnotcher?, 18 Apr 2018So this is one of Dxomark's top phone cameras? Seriously? Even ... moreYou are delusional my friend. Previous xperia produce great pictures? Nope, not at all they only good starting in XZ2. Even previous honor flagship produce better pictures than previous xperia, let alone huawei.

  • Foundation

djst, 18 Apr 2018Just compare it with 2 years old S7 edge and you'll see that cam... moreI own Galaxy S7 but tbh its photo quality isn't good. Lots of oversharpening yet soft edges, poor dynamic range and under extreme lowlight the focusing becomes really unreliable.

  • Foundation

Dxomark Topnotcher?, 18 Apr 2018So this is one of Dxomark's top phone cameras? Seriously? Even ... moreHonestly photos from P20/P20 Pro look miles better than those from XZ2... XZ2 has too much sharpening noise and dynamic range at night is a pure garbage. P20 series are surely applying too much noise reduction & sharpening but compared to a toprunner like S9 they look comparable for detail and noise level.

  • Anonymous

Rounded screen corners look nice if they're symmetrical - top and bottom. Only top with straight bottom looks wrong.

  • sashkica

Huawei p20 pro is in Serbia,at authorized distributor,cheaper than the regular s9. In fact, the price is even slightly lower than the S8. So the price of a regular p20 is more than good for what it offers.

  • Hoffmann

djst, 18 Apr 2018Just compare it with 2 years old S7 edge and you'll see that cam... moreI don't know man. I'm a S7 Edge owner and I can't tell a difference between them since I don't own a P20 to make a comparison in the first place. Maybe they are of same quality, maybe not who knows. But one thing I know for sure, I love the camera on my S7 Edge, it has a very good quality.

  • Yo

"We also snapped a few monochrome samples at night. Those turned out impressive for sure, but the autofocus with the monochrome camera is terrible for some reason - it misses more often than not"

Does same thing happen on Mate 10s

if you don't count how abnormally hot the P20 got during our benchmark run. So hot, in fact, that it was actually uncomfortable to the touch, especially around the top frame of the unit.

The situation actually got so bad that we were forced to whip out our special peltier-based cooling setup and re-run the benchmarks with active cooling applied to the back of the unit.

  • Dxomark Topnotcher?

So this is one of Dxomark's top phone cameras? Seriously?
Even the older Xperia takes better photos or they're comparable!
The low light shots are not good at all. Extreme noise reduction.
What were Dxomark thinking? Goes to show that they're really being paid to present favorable reviews for certain devices.
I wouldn't be surprised if Sony paid them at some point too.

  • AnonD-415474

I have both of them, not much difference. Screen and speakers are better on the Pro, and camera if you really like to zoom in and pixel peep

djst, 18 Apr 2018Just compare it with 2 years old S7 edge and you'll see that cam... moreSeen it, no thanks. S7 edge is too much oversharpen and overexposed, noisier image. P20 looks more 'clean'.

Hoffmann, 18 Apr 2018The camera on this phone looks stunningJust compare it with 2 years old S7 edge and you'll see that camera is not so stunning.