Asus ROG Phone II review

10 Sept 2019


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 13 Sep 20199825 is 9820........... its just a overclocked chip .Wow......

  • TimApple

Anonymous, 13 Sep 20199825 is 9820........... its just a overclocked chip .It's not just an o overclocked 9820. 9825 is on a newer, more efficient process node. The actual clocks are the same and are variable anyway because of how the scheduler works so you'll see it boosting to max frequency very rarely anyway, whatever it may say on the specs sheet. Please learn the difference before posting.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 13 Sep 2019You either don't know anything about current or past exynos... more9825 is 9820........... its just a overclocked chip .

  • Anonymous

Kangal, 13 Sep 2019Thanks for being civil. A lot of people are defensive abou... moreI can think of several reasons to get this over "XYZ" phone (be it a red mars 3 or a Note 10, or whatever). Some of which may apply to my own preferences, some which may apply to other people's preferences

120Hz panel + great color accuracy + Improved touch latency
6.6" size - great huge panel
6000mAh battery
Front facing stereo speakers
Great haptics
Side-usb for gaming/usage when in landscape mode
Expanded and far more granular control of performance
Awesome cooling
RGB light (not a big thing..but hey, some might like it)
Camera is great (maybe not better than Note 10 but for sure better than Nubia)
Headphone jack
Stockish UI option
Ultrasonic triggers for use in games and outside of games
The accessories

Are these items worth the trade-offs or the higher price (depending on which other device you would compare to) ?

Up to each and every one to decide for themselves.

  • cyber

gaming and android is a NO GO,there is no real console style games for android,only few funny CS like with 2003 graphics tops,smartphones are good enogh to play something like angry birds which doesnt requre hardware buttons.All these brands are stupid enough to try to make gaming phone nonsense.

  • ooh

SD 865 will be announced soon on Samsung 7nm+ and 875 5nm tsmc

  • Anonymous

Ok, 13 Sep 2019For a flagship it didn't perform as well as it should have.... moreYou either don't know anything about current or past exynos chips. That or you didnt read my comment very well. If you knew these things and properly read my comment then you would know i indeed know that it didn't perform as well and it wasn't as efficient. But you have to act as if i didn't know this even though i pointed things out. And then you reemphasize and exaggerate them.
And 9825 is definitely better than 9820 even if not by miles. Especially in efficiency. Not
And it still performs well just not as good as the others. Mainly cause the large cpu throttling.

Plus all that completely negated the other point.
Nobody was that upset the other 8 generations when exynos was overall superior

  • Ok

Anonymous, 13 Sep 2019Actually even last year and especially this year exynos sti... moreFor a flagship it didn't perform as well as it should have. Like I said, these two generations of Exynos have been dissapointing despite the potent Geekbench scores. Exynos 9825 wasn't better at all. Not only is Exynos slower but also less battery efficient than Snapdragon. Just read the Youtube comments when Snapdragon and Exynos are pitted against and also tech analysis of it. Still I applaud Samsung being the only one creating custom cores. Exynos DACs are always superior than Snapdragon DACs. G77 does look promising but I'd hold it for now until it actually releases. Oh and A12 GPU? Its already been beaten...by the A13 GPU. Combined with Apple's software optimisation, its overkill.

  • Anonymous

Ok, 13 Sep 2019"But then again I am an individual that likes actual practi... moreAnd you're still being disrespectful to them and still trying ton push the issue of a fight and winning.
Yet you are trying to scapegoat such actions into them.

  • Ok

Kangal, 13 Sep 2019Nitpicking is good when its done wholesome, you know, for t... more"But then again I am an individual that likes actual practicality, value, and longevity from my tools/devices... so I'm not your mainstream sheep that falls for hype, jargon, feature-cutting, and price-pumping. If you are one, that's okay, we're just different people with different personalities."

Well I guess that's not pushing opinions on people's throat. I'm probably in the herd mentality or mainstream sheep. You can't expect people to go light-hearted about that statement.

There aren't any phones in the world that has a 120Hz 10-bit OLED display, 6000mAh battery AND super loud speakers so how can there be better? Not even one of those three main components can be found in any flagship. Maybe 144Hz and 7000mAh might make you happy? This phone literally excels the most important aspects of a phone, even the camera is great. A true all-rounder. Most people like to bash Chinese software but this one is pretty much clean AOSP experience. It has a headphone jack, TWO Type C ports and no notches or punch holes. Ingress protection and wireless charging are just bonuses and not compulsory.

I brought up Note 10+ because it is the true Samsung flagship.. Or not. For the first time they went backwards and its worse than the S siblings. Now we know the S11 won't have a headphone jack which is a stupid trend..and possibly no microSD slot. Honestly I don't care about either of those two but I empathise those who care. Samsung fans feel the Note 9 is the best Samsung phone at the moment.

  • Anonymous

Ok, 13 Sep 2019Nitpicking for the sake of winning. Your only valid complai... moreActually even last year and especially this year exynos still performed well. Just some cpu throttling and not as strong of gpu obviously.
But nobody complained about getting snapdragon like this when exynos was usually overall battery in most generations by efficiency, cpu, and dac. And even sometines gpu.
And next the will use mali g77 gpu. In fact they should have with the note 10. Maybe thinking can slightly be an excuse for the 9825... maybe. Huawei too.
But they will in the next one. Not amd as far as i know. But the g77 is still able to easily outpace adreno 640 now, match the a12 gpu, possibly give the adreno 650 a run for its money, even possibly be close to the new a chip. But probably only in a large set up and maybe not quite as efficient. But is also a large step in efficiency compared to current setups.

Ok, 13 Sep 2019Nitpicking for the sake of winning. Your only valid complai... moreNitpicking is good when its done wholesome, you know, for the betterment of people or a product. Constructive criticism rather than Destructive. That's what I have been doing.

I like the ASUS RoG Phone, and I like the ASUS RoG Phone 2.
But they are not as good as they can be. And I wish they can be better. I want better and more options on the market. For you to attack my position on this, or blindly support a brand or device, it's just unintelligent. It leads to herd mentality. I haven't dissed people for choosing this device and you can read the previous comments for proof, in fact, I was very upfront with why I thought this device wasn't good for me personally and how the company could make practical improvements.

Noone's talking about the Samsung Note 10, that's a strawman you've conjured up. I simply want Samsung to do a great job with the S11 Plus that will be released sooner rather than later, and offer a good competition against this device. And in turn, I wish ASUS have a look at the competition and the drawbacks here, and step up their game for next year. I also hope that Razer decides to join in with a belated Razer Phone 3, and maybe improving that line of devices. I also wish OnePlus would join its peers at the Luxury market proper for next year. We can't expect much from Apple or Google, they're arrogant and in their own mindframe, but the other OEMs are much more receptive to taking advice and improving their devices, for instance Lenovo (Z1, Z2, X3, Z5 Pro, Z6 Pro).

  • Ok

Kangal, 13 Sep 2019Thanks for being civil. A lot of people are defensive abou... moreNitpicking for the sake of winning. Your only valid complaint is that its oversized but I can argue that the battery and speakers justify that size and bezels are required to hold the phone in landscape properly. Go ahead and pick other phones but don't diss people or the ROG Phone 2 just because some people prefer this over everything else. ROG Phone 2 is better than Red Magic 3 or the S10+ in many aspects such as display, battery, camera, speakers, performance, better thermal throttling management.

Samsung could have released a higher refresh rate display for the Note 10+ but ended up using Dynamic AMOLED+ which adds HDR10+....and also there's a notch hole. Higher refresh rate is way way more noticeable than higher resolution. Ask PC gamers, its an easy decision. Exynos has been crappy for the last 2 years, even Kirin is better. People are complaining why Samsung is giving non-Americans an inferior SoC. Their throttling is very bad and performance isn't quite as expected. Next year might be different with AMD joining them. Oh and let's not forget the headphone jack.. and the microSD absence in Note10. That tells the future of Samsung phones.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 12 Sep 2019You could say the same for many things , and in the end it ... moreNo they made a valid point. Those are two very logical nit picks. No sd slot. Oh but it has lots of storage. Great. That helps make up for it yes. But it doesn't mean that it's still not a downside or that you and others should be attacking people for rightfully missing an important standard feature.

And 1440p is still an important nice feature. Again. All other aspects of the display are absolutely amazing. But just like any other phone you could always just revert the resolution to 1080p for battery and gaming.

  • DudeDude

Great phone but to address the elephant in the room:
We have all those gaming phones but didn't these companies get the memo that there are no good Android games.

There are easily 10+ must play games on the Switch and if you include indie titles easily 100+ games worth playing that are either made for Switch or ports from PS4/XOne/PC.
How many such ports on Android if you don't count nVidia Shield?

Recently Switch got Astral Chain which is an amazing Platinum Games title. And a new Fire Emblem. Not to even mention the behemoths like Breath of the Wild and Super Mario Odyssey, two 10/10 titles in a single year. How many Android games released in the PAST TWO YEARS that even made you think "wow, I wanna play it". A mediocre Switch title that releases each month is miles ahead of anything Android gets, let alone the huge first party Nintendo hits that we get at least two a year.

Android gaming is a joke and always has been and seems like always will be. iPhone is in a bit better situation but still not even in the same league as a proper console like the Switch.

  • Anonymous

thada2607, 12 Sep 2019they have their metrics, differs from reviewing a phone wit... moreNo. It's feeling and lack of knowledge that switches deserved phone ratings around whether by reviewer or user

  • Anonymous

Kangal, 13 Sep 2019Thanks for being civil. A lot of people are defensive abou... moreAnd even with tighter jeans i was able to pocket my Sony xperia z ultra. That thing is huge in height and width. Even with short pockets. Of course i was afraid it could fall out more with the short pockets but it didn't happen.
So the pocket claim on any phone is purely bogus.

  • Anonymous

Kangal, 13 Sep 2019Thanks for being civil. A lot of people are defensive abou... moreWhat do you mean nobody can say why to get this part the red magic 3? It's essily superior in almost every single way and about the same price. And about similar in size and thickness.
A far superior display in brightness, refresh rate, latency, and accuracy. Bigger battery and better battery life. Much better ufs storage. Multiple ports. Better speakers and amps. Headphone jack with included headphones. The gaming triggers that are far better.
A much cooler box. Better camera performance.
And above all much more optimized software.

The only advantage the rm3 has is the fan built in. And whichever design someone might prefer between the two which is purely preference.

  • Anonymous

What the hell is wrong with the reviewer?????
Not a good buy? Not sensible? Only for those specific people????
The regular one wich still has like 8gb of ram and 128gb ufs 3 storage is only like 500 bucks.

Its pretty much the most decked out high performance decice you can buy at such a low price.
Even if you are not into gaming or don't care about specs that it's still going to be the overall best device you can get and at a fraction of the cost of any other flagship.

And if you don't need any of those fancy features why would you pay double for another device that offers less?
It's display, speakers, connectivity, battery life, speed, and software optimizing put it right up there with the best of the best and even better than the best in some areas. The only area is a bit behind is camera. And that's not by much. It's still right up there with the rest and produces amazing shots still. And could easily be enhanced in updates.

It's one of the most sensible buys you can make. For 1k or more the only thing you get off the iphone is faster chip... barely noticeable in many real situations though.. especially if it comes with its usual ios bugs and slow downs or crashes. Slightly brighter display not necessarily better one. And slightly better camera. Everything else is superior at a fraction of the cost.
Note10? Spen and maybe slightly better display and camera in some aspects. That's it.

Not even devices that are double the price are objectively superior. Whether you use it for gaming or basic functions.

Love the Community, 12 Sep 2019Sure, get a Samsung S10+ if you're into 1440p 60hz 60fps ga... moreThanks for being civil.
A lot of people are defensive about this device, even though I'm doing rightly by nitpicking and pointing out it's flaws. If you noticed, noone in this thread could make a proper argument as to why someone should buy this instead of the Nubia RedMagic 3.

This device isn't for me, but that's because it is oversized. I have extra large hands, but my jeans pockets are standard size and it doesn't fit at all or properly. I'm currently rocking the OnePlus 7 Pro, and there are so many things I have complaints with. But I'm sticking with it because there's no Pixel/AndroidOne alternative.

I hate this new "dongle life" where you need to carry around spare cable, power bank, usb, thick cases, headphone charging box etc etc. That makes the phone, or at least the experience, a lot bulkier and less mobile than it was. Before we needed Slim cases, few microSD cards, spare battery...done.

Just imagine if they release in 6 months the Samsung S11+ Plus, where they keep the good properties but upgrade the flaws: Better Exynos SoC, No Notch/Hole, 120Hz AMOLED option. There would be little reason to get the ASUS. Because it would be a more compact phone capable of gaming, better overall, and you could void warranty/Knox/and tinker with the Exynos variant. The monospeaker would suck though, that's one area few have gotten right. However, I rather we have two phenomenal options to choose on the market than just one, which is why I plead for practicality, value, and improvements from a consumer-friendly perspective. We've lost some interesting designs over the years, click on My Devices, to take a trip down memory lane.