Honor 50 review

19 November 2021


Sort by:

  • JustAThought

Shadows, 20 Nov 2021When was the NE 5G ever $300? Normally it costs €400 The Mi 11 Lite 5G NE 6/128 starts from US$287 in the ASEAN region. The Honor 50 6/128 is US$407 in the same region.

This is Honor's first comeback into the European market, so I'll forgive them for the high price. Let's hope Honor 60 brings to the table a true and proper flagship killer that's priced competitively. Only then will Honor (Huawei?) gain popularity in the mobile market, this is how the market is now.

rizki1, 20 Nov 2021Missing IP rating, microSD, Stereo speakers, IR blaster, GM... moreWhen was the NE 5G ever $300? Normally it costs €400

  • Anonymous

Curved screen - all the main manufacturers have moved away from them.

Kiza, 19 Nov 2021At the end, you don't give us so many minuses for such... moreBut you haven't tried the competition

Nick Tegrataker, 20 Nov 2021"The so-called Hi-res mode shoots in 108MP, but those ... moreI can agree with that. I've never liked Quad Bayer and Nona Bayer sensors in the first place because they always sacrifice detail purity, but it seems like Honor really pay attention to the photo quality with this phone. It makes me wonder how good the photo quality of Magic3 models is going to be. That said, I might assume that it might have something to do with the chipset ISP that has lower AI and machine learning computing power than the top-end flagship chipsets.

  • Anonymous

rizki1, 20 Nov 2021Missing IP rating, microSD, Stereo speakers, IR blaster, GM... moreLol, that Xiaomi doesn't even have 120Hz refresh rate and fast charging. Forget MIUI, that is the buggiest UI I have ever experienced in my life. Even Huawei's HarmonyOS is miles better than MIUI.

  • SteveFoX

The photo quality is excellent, far above a lot of phones around that price. There is 0 noise and plenty of detail in most scenarios. Shame about the ultra wide, that one was really poor.
In general, if Honor drop the base model price to 350 euros it will be quite the bargain, but not at this price

For a smartphone with a pixel-binning camera sensor, I'm actually really impressed with the photo quality. It totally reminds me of the photo quality from the Huawei Mate 30 Pro. I only see a little oversharpening effect, unlike previous Honor phones under Huawei ownership. If Honor provides the same kind of photo quality from this phone in their Magic3 models, then Honor can be a force to be reckoned with in mobile photography.

  • Anonymous

Good looking phone.

Munem, 19 Nov 2021Wait, this s**t does not even has Gorilla Glass screen prot... moreMissing IP rating, microSD, Stereo speakers, IR blaster, GMS (some region) too and overpricedddddd Mi 11 Lite 5G NE for $300 have everything. Honor and Huawei really need money.

disgusting camera design

Kiza, 19 Nov 2021At the end, you don't give us so many minuses for such... moreThey take the price into consideration for their scores which makes it very subjective. This has a big affect on the scores in their reviews of midrangers and budget phones at least

SpiritWolf, 19 Nov 2021Hm, ghosting in broad daylight? Check the pedestrian on sam... moreThe entire right side of the first sample suffer from slight ghosting, probably caused by a camera shake.

Overall this seems like a very solid product but the price is way too high for what it offers. Sure, you get GMS (duh) and a decent main camera, but its performance falls well behind its competitors at a similar price range. I'll wait and see what Honor 60 series will bring to the table in a few days.

"The so-called Hi-res mode shoots in 108MP, but those photos are hard to recommend. You do get plenty of detail, but the loss of sharpness and the increased noise are not worth it."

Sometimes I really wonder if GSMArena staffs look at those images at 100% magnification on a decently large monitor then somehow reach this kind of conclusion. Increased noise becomes fairly ignorable if you downscale them to lower resolution (12-27MP) and you will end up getting significantly better details and sharpness compared to the regular 12MP shots.

There's clearly some sort of multi-frame stacking going on, too, as artifacts seen in most full resolution images from Nonacell sensors are largely absent on Honor 50's. The images are genuinely good quality and definitely worth using for landscape shots.

  • factcat

bulbulito.bayagbag, 20 Nov 2021On paper, Huawei sold Honor, but looking deep, you can stil... more I agree with you!

  • JustAThought

bulbulito.bayagbag, 20 Nov 2021On paper, Huawei sold Honor, but looking deep, you can stil... moreHonor was asked why have so many similarities with Huawei. They replied the phones were developed earlier before the sale of Honor. Unfortunately, that excuse can only work for a limited time. If next year's Honor phones still same like Huawei's, there is a risk Honor might get the ban too.

On paper, Huawei sold Honor, but looking deep, you can still see Huawei all over. Even the man running Honor is still the same, George Zhao. They just did that to be able to get much needed components that Huawei couldn't.

Wait, this s**t does not even has Gorilla Glass screen protection?