Xiaomi 12S Ultra review

15 July 2022


Sort by:

  • L
  • Lccy
  • n1k
  • 16 Jul 2022

rizki1, 16 Jul 2022One of the best flagship to date.. Chart toppings almost ev... moreI'll explain why it's not for me despite the amount of pictures I take with a smartphone

1. A 23mm focal length is too wide for the main camera, by the time I walk closer, the Lamborghini I want to photograph is gone.
2. I like deep depth of field, I like a lot of the frame to be in focus especially since your can't control what you photograph on the street, without the ability to stop down, the depth of field is too thin for me on this phone.

    • Z
    • Zeus
    • rJ7
    • 16 Jul 2022

    Meh. There are good reasons why 11ultra's production was stopped. As a previous owner of one of that device I would never recommend that. It had its positives in cameras, that too not as great as these guys makes it to be. Cannot believe these guys still recommend an extinct device.

      I like this phone

        • R
        • Rkm
        • FY0
        • 16 Jul 2022

        Anonymous, 16 Jul 2022'we can't say we understand its deliberate '... moreAs you said, you use it mostly on portrait shots. I also do that.
        The problem here seems that they are applying the vignette irrespective of the subject. In the last 3 scenarios, it shouldn't have been applied or vignette should have been corrected , whichever is the case.

        That being said, I do prefer the tonal properties and rendering of leica authentic mode over the other ones.

          rizki1, 16 Jul 2022One of the best flagship to date.. Chart toppings almost ev... moreWell, it's not for me because it doesn't have SD slot and 3.5mm audio jack. I don't care that much about the latest procesor and camera because I am not a mobile 'gamer' and today almost all phones take pretty good photos, and in the end all pictures end up being compressed, filtered and uploaded on Instagram, Facebook and so on. For serious foto I have a Nikon. So the phone it's not bad, just it's not for me.

            • R
            • Rkm
            • FY0
            • 16 Jul 2022

            Those are the best full res samples from a quad bayer sensor in stock form. Almost rivaling the mi 10 ultra's optimized gcam full res sample. If this receives the same support from the community as 10 ultra, this is gonna be a beast.

              Asphalt-nation, 16 Jul 2022Yeah that's fine go play around with your K50 and its ... moreDimensity is cool on that phone, but goddamn you roasted him, nice job

                Overall one of the best if not the best device of 2022 so far.

                If you're not knowledgeable enough to import one and do what's necessary to make it usable where you live (which is perfectly doable) then it's on you.

                  raminpro, 16 Jul 2022new SNAPDRAGON overheat again (last test), it's good d... moreYeah that's fine go play around with your K50 and its dumpster fire cameras.
                  This phone is for big boys.

                    Aierlan, 16 Jul 2022When doing a survey like that though, the answers to that t... moreyes import could be the problem, There's another reason that I read in last week's poll comment is because it's a Chinese phone, because it's MIUI which they say has lots of bugs, bloatware and a few more because it doesn't have 3.5mm and microSD slots. I rarely see them complaining about imports and more expensive than x80, find X5 in the comments.

                      Anonymous, 16 Jul 2022Those night photos and day photos look so unnatural. I'... moreAnd did you say the photos were unnatural? The main camera photos from the 12S Ultra received much more praise in this review compared to that of the S22 Ultra. I trust reviewers who have the actual phone than some sore fanboy claiming an image is "unnatural"

                        this phone is a real beast....Mrwhosetheboss & Marques Brownlee did a great job reviewing the 12S Ultra...both agreed in photography is one of the best phone ever....just few misteps but when it hits...it hits hard!!!!!!

                          Anonymous, 16 Jul 2022Those night photos and day photos look so unnatural. I'... more"crappy pics" lol. Pixel peep into the images, it captures far more details than any S22 could dream of resolving. "S22 Ultra" runs it in circles" - You're wrong, the Xiaomi is on par with Samsung in most categories

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • KZK
                            • 16 Jul 2022

                            Anonymous, 16 Jul 2022Those night photos and day photos look so unnatural. I'... moreS22 Ultra was bad too in some areas when first launched, before subsequent updates over the 5 months made its cameras better. Sounds more like you are a disgruntled Samsung fanboy that can't accept there are better phones than your beloved Samsung.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • 46c
                              • 16 Jul 2022

                              Vonikhsat S Metra, 16 Jul 2022Photo quality is just jaw dropping. Mi 11 Ultra was the bes... moreThose night photos and day photos look so unnatural. I've never seen anyone produce such crappy camera pics from an 1inch sensor, so facts are facts do not spread rumors and defend a crappy company like Xiaomi. S22 ultra runs it circles in every category, and most importantly that so called plus varient of Snapdragon 8 is not effecient at all. Heck it can't even beat it's predessor mi11 ultra in battery life. But I guess Xiaomi realized that this product was not good enough for the west, or feared it would go down the same path as Huawei. Oh well I guess there are fanboys that would look at anything and try to make their brand appear good. Jokes on you.

                                The image quality got much better than Mi 11U thanks to Leica. The video quality perhaps will get more improvement by software updates later. The big question, why xiaomi eliminates the rear display this time? The rear display is quite helping for selfie using rear camera. Not just for gimmick.

                                  • T
                                  • T M
                                  • 0fV
                                  • 16 Jul 2022

                                  Those night shots are top notch. :O

                                    rizki1, 16 Jul 2022One of the best flagship to date.. Chart toppings almost ev... moreWhen doing a survey like that though, the answers to that type of question are kind of meaningless. It's not for me could be for a number of reasons. For example if somebody is not looking at buying flagships at all then they could simply answer it's not for me for a similar survey on every single flagship. Some people might answer 'it's not for me' because it's only available in China and they don't want to import it. If they are in the market for flagships then there are lots of alternatives. For example, phones like Vivo x80 pro, Find x5 pro, Honor Magic 4 Pro all scored higher than this phone here on the gsmarena overall rating and all of these competitors are also cheaper then the Xiaomi 12s ultra. Also, for example last year's Xiaomi 11 ultra is way cheaper at current prices so pricing also comes into it. If I was choosing between the Xiaomi 11 ultra and Xiaomi 12s ultra I'd also have to consider 'Is the Xiaomi 12s ultra worth 50% more than the Xiaomi 11 ultra' ? (based on the current prices in China)

                                      • S
                                      • Shaun
                                      • XTM
                                      • 16 Jul 2022

                                      rizki1, 16 Jul 2022One of the best flagship to date.. Chart toppings almost ev... moreMaybe because of the big camera island

                                        One of the best flagship to date.. Chart toppings almost everywhere. It's funny how people voted "it's not for me" in last week's poll. It gets a 4.4 rating, good job GSMArena.