Google Pixel 7 and 7 Pro hands-on review

12 October 2022


Sort by:

  • J
  • Julian M
  • xyB
  • 14 Oct 2022

I love Pixels, but the premium price of non-A devices is really hard for me to understand - this said, I'm very happy we get *a variants 6 months later with all the essentials that matter, I'm definitely going to be on the lookout for the 7a to replace my 4a with.

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • Lkg
    • 14 Oct 2022

    [deleted post]Most of these issues have been there since generation 1.
    Reviewers give free pass, because google logo.

    Htc was trashed for soing exactly same. U11 camera was copy of pixel 1.
    Even the results.

      • A
      • Are you
      • nbj
      • 14 Oct 2022

      [deleted post]one of these Apple geeks?

        walkman8, 14 Oct 2022OMG the photo from original Pixel 😲 That's what I�... moreOn a second look, pixel-peeping (no pun intended) every single shot taken by 7 pro (as of 14th October), the photos aren't nearly as bad as in your sample. Indeed, there is barely any noise in day shots, even in the shadows. Yes, colors might be a bit too punchy and unrealistic, but noise and sharpness is just fine.

          [deleted post]OMG the photo from original Pixel 😲
          That's what I've been telling. Photo quality hadn't improved much for years, it's been even downgraded in certain aspects.
          Yes, we have more options and versatility (multiple zoom points, night mode, macro etc), but when you look at pure quality, not just quantity, Pixel and Nokia 808/1020 still smoke current flagships out of the water.
          12s Ultra and most current Sony flagships are going back in that direction, but it's a very slow progress.

            Person, 14 Oct 2022How bad is battery lifeActually it has good results.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • 4GA
              • 14 Oct 2022

              I'll get a pixel 2 instead

              nice reasonable size. decent battery for the screen size and an ol sd835. light, not fatiguing to hold. bezels so you can actually pick up the phone without smudging the screen or misclicking a hundred different things, not having to do that weird thing where you slide your fingers under the back to lift it and get a bunch of crap and random crumbs or grains of sand under your fingernails. great custom rom support up to android 12. even ubuntu touch works short of volte


              oh and the blue one has an accented power button

              in my opinion it's a better buy than a p7/pro

                Camera section updated with new samples and notes on zoom and focusing after latest update.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • 4GA
                  • 14 Oct 2022

                  on best buy website when preorders were first up, there were storage options up to 512gb with Lemongrass being available on the p7 pro and Hazel on the p7 in these larger storage versions

                  .... I wonder what that was about

                    Anonymous, 13 Oct 2022You're comparing trucks and supercars, two different c... moreCar with car, phone with phone. Again, you are choosing a phone based on what you need, same with car.
                    And not stating that pixel is perfect, or even the best at camera department. I'm very far from that, as I don't like the rendering of the details when pixel peeping.
                    What I'm saying is, that we have maaany phones on the market, ones exceptional performance, other with great battery, other with great cameras etc. So, you should choose the one that suits you best. Google is not bragging anywhere that it is best gaming phone on the market, because maybe this is not that they are aiming for.
                    So again, saying the phone is s**t because it is poor in one department, and good or great at other, it means only that is maybe not for you, and you should look for something else, but not necessarily that there are no people out there thinking "that is a perfect phone for me"!
                    So no hard feelings, just putting my 5 cents here. :)

                      • J
                      • Jaaashi
                      • AjW
                      • 14 Oct 2022

                      Person, 14 Oct 2022How bad is battery lifeIt's about the same as an S22 Ultra. Depends on what you do, but mixed usage, and first firmware, gives 5% less than S22 Ultra. Can only be better from there!

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • Lkg
                        • 14 Oct 2022

                        Nick Tegrataker, 14 Oct 2022I'm glad that the main camera finally crops from a ful... moreBiastubers then shall complain. Give the label "lack of detail".
                        Google does not want this, nor ppl that watch those lame videos.

                          • P
                          • Person
                          • FEA
                          • 14 Oct 2022

                          How bad is battery life

                            I'm glad that the main camera finally crops from a full-resolution image to create better-looking 2x shots instead of simply blowing up a centre portion of a 12MP image, as leaves and fine patterns in a distance appear a lot crisper this year. I just hope that they will tone down the sharpening and noise reduction for the main and the UWA cameras to the level of the 5x telephoto camera - Leaf blades look oily and extremely unnatural in these 0.5-3x samples.

                            Now, only if they enabled the 50MP mode as well..

                              Anonymous, 13 Oct 2022"any artifacts in this regard, will be only a problem ... moreNo image sensor that uses a CFA cannot capture "truth", but only partial information - digital cameras then construct an approximation of the actual scene through mixing and interpolation of values. Regardless of what algorithms you use to process that information, the output will always suffer from resolution loss, have artifacts that you might or you might not notice (yes, even when using conventional, non-ML ones), and have "fake" details if you compare it to the ground truth side-by-side.

                              "machine learning relies on photos that are from a different object and photos"
                              ML-based demosaicing algorithms have been trained based on millions of other images but they are not wizardly technology that creates an image out of thin air based on some tags and keywords like a bunch of art-drawing deep learning models we've been seeing recently, nor that take a portion of another image and include it in the final output. What the demosaiced output image will end up looking like still depends on the mosaic RGB image that has been fed as an input. Both ML and non-ML ones need to guess the colour of each pixel based on the values of surrounding pixels, it's just the former can be more efficient at defining textures and edges in noises, or finding complex patterns that would've completely fallen apart using the latter.

                              Adding to what the other anonymous user (wxv) says - I believe a lot of people care about how real their photos *look*, but not necessarily how real they truly *are*. This is why digital cameras managed to take over film despite so many old-fashioned people at that time claiming that the former was mere fakery and would spell doom for photography, and why Adobe's Super Resolution was appreciated by many photographers who need to print their work in a large canvas.

                              I guess we can have our own opinions on this topic, and as much as I would like to respect yours, I'll stick to mine. As for iPhone's 48MP ProRAW, IMO its artifacts are a non-issue for the majority of cases and I would rather take whatever the "fake" details that I might get out of ML demosaicing over Quad Bayer's consistently awful-looking RAW that is full of distorted details and colours any day of my life.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • MnN
                                • 14 Oct 2022

                                [deleted post]LOL. Such strong feelings! Some people find religion in everything.

                                It's a pretty objective review.

                                I personally was on the fence, but will now get the P7P to replace my P6P. Hopefully, Google will tone down the camera overprocessing and further improve battery life.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • n@7
                                  • 14 Oct 2022

                                  Anonymous, 14 Oct 2022When you look at the official renders, the periscope lens o... moreThough I have tested the background blur from the periscope camera and there is noticeably more background blur in comparison to a 5x crop from the main camera (main camera has an entrance pupil of 3.7mm).

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • n@7
                                    • 14 Oct 2022

                                    When you look at the official renders, the periscope lens of the 7 Pro seems to be much smaller even though it has the same 19mm f/3.5 specs. 19mm f/3.5 would mean that the entrance pupil is 5.4mm large, but it definitely looks smaller. Before the 7 Pro was announced, I tried to calculate the entrance pupil with the official renders and got approximately 4.3mm, this would mean that the f-number is actually 4.4. It wouldn't be the first time that a manufacturer lies about the f-number. Even some telescope manufacturers lie about the f-number. The f-number is focal length / entrance pupil diameter. Sometimes manufacturers lie about the f-number by calculating it via focal length / lens diameter and that's wrong. According to some reviewers, the periscope camera of the 7 Pro doesn't really deliver more detail than the 6 Pro. If the entrance pupil is really smaller, then there would be more diffraction and this could explain why there isn't more detail.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • Lkg
                                      • 14 Oct 2022

                                      [deleted post]So, you got a phone like this to install custom rom, which removes all sony features.
                                      LOL ...

                                      Should have got something way cheaper then.

                                        • P
                                        • P0.05
                                        • 0sM
                                        • 14 Oct 2022

                                        Kudos to the camera section. You are not buying into the hype and explain quite clearly what is happening here. The images are heavily processed and may not be everyone's favorite.

                                        They sure are not my favourite. I actually was wondering what's going on here when I made the first photos on my new Pixel 7 Pro. This is supposed to be the camera flagship of the planet? It's actually underwhelming what we get here. Google is going all in on the software post-processing instead of getting the best and latest camera chip. And it shows!

                                        The rest of the phone is pretty awesome though.