Samsung Galaxy S8+
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy S8+

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

William, 11 Apr 2020this phone has a very serious bug. whenever you i update my... moreWhat is the need of pin code why you use pin code turn off pin code option only use biometric i also have s8+ but i am not having this issue or any other issue

  • William

this phone has a very serious bug. whenever you i update my phone, it locks me out, it refuses my PIN code, as if the PIN code is wrong. But it still accept my biometric to unlock. the biometric unlock however, won't work if i restart the phone, because it requires PIN code and biometric won't work.

there's a little temporary fix on this however. all i gotta do, is to let the phone completely out of battery to 0%, and then recharge it back, turn it on, and voila, the PIN code is accepted again as if nothing happen. after the PIN code is accepted, it is mandatory to change the PIN to anything else, so it will save the new PIN on flash.

If somehow, you don't save the new PIN, and your phone got restarted, you'll end up get the same BUG again, and re-do the temporary fix i mentioned above.

recently, i found another temporary fix on it. just active REMOTE UNLOCK feature on samsung account. so, when this bug happens, go to samsung website, unlock the phone (remove PIN), and then reset(save) a new PIN again.

this BUG is seriously annoying, making me hesitate to do any new update. there's a new april 2020 update, and i'm just keep ignoring it. i have asked the local samsung store, and they told me some users suffer the same bug on this phone.

anyway, i'm getting a new phone, and it's not samsung anymore, samsung disappointed me.

  • Anonymous

My battery draining problem has solved after april update now everyone can update to april security patch without hesitation

  • Shahbaz khan

Anonymous, 05 Apr 2020Do you mean before updating we should reset the phone? or w... moreNo.. don't reset. There is no need of that. Update directly and enjoy. Hard reset before update doesn't make any difference

  • Anonymous

AlienKiss , 05 Apr 2020If it's not a big problem (having to backup everything), I ... moreHard reset before updating doesn't make any difference...

  • AlienKiss

Anonymous, 05 Apr 2020Do you mean before updating we should reset the phone? or w... moreIf it's not a big problem (having to backup everything), I always recommend doing a hard reset before the update. It saves you of possible bugs and glitches inherited from the previous versions or updates.
Lately I haven't seen so many problems like before, but there are still glitches found on almost every brand, especially the Pixel phones.

  • Anonymous

AlienKiss , 05 Apr 2020Hard reset = delete all user data and restore phone to fact... moreDo you mean before updating we should reset the phone? or we should reset after the update?

  • AlienKiss

Ozymandia , 04 Apr 2020By reboot , you mean factory reset or restart ?Hard reset = delete all user data and restore phone to factory settings
Reboot = simple restart (it can also be called soft reset)
Dirty update = when someone installed an os update without making a hard reset first
Hope this helps!

  • Ozymandia

AlienKiss , 01 Apr 2020Yay! It's April 1st and I already have April 1st security u... moreBy reboot , you mean factory reset or restart ?

  • AlienKiss

Anonymous, 02 Apr 2020I got march update on 20th march but i am facing battery dr... moreI used to work in software support for 2 phone brands and one of the very first things to do if you experience any kind of problem with your device is to perform a hard reset.
Usually, this will clear most of the bugs and glitches that may occur when making a "dirty" update. Just make sure to backup anything you want saved first!
Also, you can turn off the phone, press Volume Up (NOT Volume Down!!!) + Bixby + Power button (until you see a blue screen), then navigate with the volume buttons to clear cache and press the power button for enter. Then reboot the phone.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 02 Apr 2020I got march update on 20th march but i am facing battery dr... moreOn reflection and considering that the April update has been released so soon (i got April update yesterday) which is weird. I am now more inclined to believe that your battery issues may well have been a result of the March update.

If you have not received the update yet, it shouldn't be too long now and hopefully this will solve the issue. Good luck.

  • Anonymous

I got april update today

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 01 Apr 2020After reading your post, I too have the April update too. Y... moreI got march update on 20th march but i am facing battery draining issue

  • Anonymous

AlienKiss , 01 Apr 2020Yay! It's April 1st and I already have April 1st security u... moreAfter reading your post, I too have the April update too. Yeah, very impressed.

  • Ali

Got update for March last week.
No issues regarding performance and battery drainage.(it wasn't promising earlier too)

  • AlienKiss

Yay! It's April 1st and I already have April 1st security update. I admit that for Samsung this is quite impressive!
I've just rebooted the phone and at first I noticed that the navigation gestures doesn't work too well and the close all button is not there anymore, but after another reboot, the problem is solved.
Advice: after the update is done and the phone just got into Android, let the phone settle for a few minutes. Also, do a reboot after.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 31 Mar 2020i live in SEA and im using model SM-955u , any advice for my s8+ I've yet to see widespread reports of anyone having issues with the latest security update. I would be grateful if some one would show me some evidence out there that there is an issue with the latest update.

I updated to the latest patch and have not had any issues at all. I'm not dismissing people that have had issues entirely but I am certainly not going to be convinced and say that it is a fact that the update is responsible without seeing any real evidence .... as it there could be a.multitude of reasons for experiencing battery draining issues and it would be unwise to draw conclusions from seeing a just a couple of people on gsmarena that claim to have issues since updating.

This is just my opinion obviously.

  • Anonymous

i live in SEA and im using model SM-955u , any advice for my s8+

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 29 Mar 2020Mine is also G955FD i would suggest you to not update becau... moresm-g955f.

  • Anonymous

Omar, 29 Mar 2020What is your s8 plus model number please? Cuz I want to u... moreMine is also G955FD i would suggest you to not update because the march update has battery draining issue.