Xiaomi Redmi 9 (Prime) review

27 July 2020


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

It has NFC? Wow perhaps the cheapest phone with it I guess.

Waiting to see the score of Galaxy A01 Core

Anonymous, 28 Jul 2020Tried that but no, I could only turn off personal ads. I... moreBy "Personal ads" , do you mean Receive Recommendations?
Because once i turned it off, there was no ads at all, nothing in none of my 4 Mi Phones
Also you can easily find and delete msa background app without rooting your phone.

  • Anonymous

what motorola, 27 Jul 2020You can disable those adsTried that but no, I could only turn off personal ads.

It could differ by region btw, but I could not find that information.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 27 Jul 2020You said you prefer Motorola. At this price motorola have m... moreForgot to mention, they don't even sell the E6S here but only the regular E6 for 89 euro

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 27 Jul 2020You said you prefer Motorola. At this price motorola have m... moreAt this price?

Listen, I know the Redmi 9 is dirt cheap in some countries, but in mine the 64gb 4gb ram model of the Redmi 9 is same price as the Motorola G8 and 20 euro cheaper than the G8 Power and Plus.

So maybe in some markets the Xiaomi is cheaper, but I look at mine.

And again ads and terrible privacy Xiaomi has are the reasons I avoid them like a plague, unless it is a Android One phone from them because those are great.

(and before someone claims I am a Motorola fanboy, no I am not and I only had their G5S Plus in the past for a while, my current phone is a LG running custom ROM)

Andreidinutu, 27 Jul 2020First, nobody looks at those stars ratings, as they are ran... moreSamsung it's not cooler. From another Balkan state.

Meneldor, 27 Jul 2020I think I'll just stop reading gsmarena reviews at thi... moreYeah, but this is Xiaomi, not Samsung. They are not on Xiaomi side. What u think, how big euforia would be if Samsung release this phone? That would be breaking news. But users are on Xiaomi side and that is only important.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 27 Jul 2020Only flagships earn more than 4. My phone redmi note 8 has 4 stars

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 27 Jul 2020Corning announced last week the Gorilla "7". An... moreJust check the prices some phones even way more expensive than this phone don't even have gorilla glass

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 27 Jul 2020I would prefer Motorola due to faster interface (mostly sto... moreYou said you prefer Motorola. At this price motorola have moto e6s. Just compare these two phonese6s sucks compared to redmi 9

  • Anonymous

Meneldor, 27 Jul 2020Note 9S that costs 60€ more not cheaper. TypoNote 9s costs double the price of this phone.

  • Anonymous

Elmaz, 27 Jul 2020I believe GSMarena's perspective on budget devices is ... moreOnly flagships earn more than 4.

  • Anonymous

Corning announced last week the Gorilla "7".
And Gorilla 3 is listed as PRO?

Should be :

Low ends = gorilla 5
Midranges/flagships = gorilla 6

I believe GSMarena's perspective on budget devices is askew by all the 12gb ram, 144hz screens they look at. Budget phones seem to annoy the reviewers. Redmi 9 is an amazing budget offering and should get 4.5 stars.

  • what motorola

Anonymous, 27 Jul 2020I would prefer Motorola due to faster interface (mostly sto... moreYou can disable those ads

Anonymous, 27 Jul 2020I would prefer Motorola due to faster interface (mostly sto... moreDon't even get me started on motorola, I bought the one macro out of curiosity (for 125 euro) anndd maaaan. It gives you more than playable pubg performance, and comparing it to my samsung a40 it's better in every possible way other than the camera and the display (720p doesnt bother me but amoled does)
I also own black shark 2 so I know what mobile gaming performance is

  • Anonymous

Andreidinutu, 27 Jul 2020First, nobody looks at those stars ratings, as they are ran... moreI would prefer Motorola due to faster interface (mostly stock Android) and snapdragon chipset (possible rom support)

Plus I just dislike the ads in some Xiaomi apps, they make great phones for low money, but there is a reason for that bang for buck price.

(I would want to say LG and Sony make nice phones but for such low prices they are none or essnetially with same Mediatek chip)

  • Hritik

Meneldor, 27 Jul 2020I think I'll just stop reading gsmarena reviews at thi... moreWhy is this only 3.2 stars..

Even the overrated overhyped nord is 4+.

Gsmarena...pl fix this...it shud be atleast a 4. For this pricepoint its the best device

  • chemeng

Extra kudos to the writer/editor of this review for using the correct plural term of cactus (cacti)